We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must try...”

Joey's Pancake House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Open daily 7 am until 12 pm. Closed Thursdays. Established in 1966, Joey's Pancake House has become a Maggie Valley landmark. With a history of serving top notch breakfasts coupled with good old fashioned customer service Joey's is a tradition with visitors and locals of our area. From our signature pancakes and golden waffles to our country ham and hashbrown casserole you are sure to find a favorite that will keep you coming back for more. And of course every single dish is served with love.
Albemarle, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a must try...”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

In Maggie Valley this is a good place to eat breakfast. even though there was a line for seating , we did not have to wait long. Very good breakfast at a reasonable price. Service was excellent, too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    872
    225
    72
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kane, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Arrived for breakfast shortly after their open hours... Place was already packed and had to wait five minutes for table (not bad at all). Food was good.... waitress was very busy but attentive at the same time and able to be friendly (not easy sometimes for busy waitress). Did notice that there was a steady WAIT to get a table.... so i would make sure you have plenty of time before deciding to visit here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosiecatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best pancakes!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We actually ate at Joey's twice and tried different items. I had three huge Mountain Blueberry pancakes with just a hint of powdered sugar topped with real butter and blueberry syrup and two slices of bacon the first day. I couldn't eat all of it because it was so much food. The pancakes were seeping with blueberries and the bacon was just perfect, not underdone but not real crispy either. I also never saw the bottom of my coffee cup. This is one of the few places that still serves each customer water with their other beverages. The second day I had the Tuscan Omelet. Filled with onion, pepper, Italian Sausage and mushrooms, it was very tasty and not overpowering on any one flavor. I would recommend this to anyone who wants some good food, but come hungry and early because everybody loves Joey's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best country ham hands down.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Nothing fancy about this restaurant, just some of the best food and service around. They have very limited hours to serve. I think it is 7 am to 12 noon. The down side is that there is always a long wait for a table, unless you are there when they open. They are known for their own brand of country ham. If you like country ham with your breakfast, you have got to try Joey's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 277CarlM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service not good!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We were there for the 4th of July. We went to Joey's for breakfast on Sat. The food came out fast and was good. The waitress ways friendly considering how busy they were. We decided to go back on Sunday. What a different story! They were not near as busy but, we had to flash down our waitress for drink refills, the food was slow coming out and the staff was not friendly. I don't think we'll be going back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flapjack11, Owner at Joey's Pancake House, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
First, thank you for choosing Joey's for breakfast during your visit. We are happy you enjoyed your first experience with us but are disappointed we did not meet your expectations on your second visit. Yes, Independence weekend is very busy for us but that is no excuse for poor service. We serve hundreds of customers every week and our hope is that all leave happy and with a desire to dine with us again. Please consider coming to Joey's again and let me know when you are there. I will make certain you enjoy both your food and your service just as many have over the decades.

Sincerely,
Brenda O'Keefe
Owner Joey's Pancake House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey's Pancake House also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Joey's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing