We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creekwood Village Resort
Clinton, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My kids and I always stay here when we go skiing in Maggie Valley. We;ve had wonderful experiences and memories made here. The lake and creek are so picturesque - and fun for the kids. Also nice that the cabins are not RIGHT on the main drag but back a few hundred yards - so nice and quiet and private - yet close to everything. Sonya is soooo nice. Always extremely helpful in planing a trip up there regarding weather and driving (and skiing) conditions. And we love the cabins - all the amenities we want and wonderful cabin feel. Also, this last trip Sonya was especially helpful - after checking out in the morning we went up the mountain to ski and had car problems (wouln;t go any further up hill!) - I immediately called Sonya who gave me directions to a local car guy, who within an hour had us all fixed up and we were skiiing before noon! Won't stay anywhere else whenever going to that area. We love Creekwood!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
32
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went here during the winter to go skiing and stayed in a 3 Bedroom cabin. The locaion was great and we loved teh ski area. Our cabin definately only had the most basic supplies. For example: NO paper towels, napkins, toaster oven or toaster. There was only 1 small pan for stove top. Not even a baking sheet or any pan for the oven, which was annoying since the kitchen is not very helpful if you have no pans and no toaster. No salt and pepper. There was no shampoo or conditioner in bathroom and 1 roll of toilet paper.

It was definately aged and furniture has been used to the point it needs replacing soon. We are pretty easy going, but I think my expectations were just a bit high so I was disappointed and felt like we did not bring everything we needed to be comfortable. She also wants you to pay in cash or check, which is a turn off for me and not a great way to get off on positive note. Keep in mind there is not a grocery store in town either. Would deinately go back to area, but stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: 3 BR cabin only have 1 Bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonjamichels, Owner at Creekwood Village Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I was sorry to read this review brcause I was extremely nice to the young couple that rented the cabin.
No one ever came to the office to let me know the toaster was not there. I would have given them a new toaster.
The couple and thier freinds checked out 2 hours and 15 minutes late and I did not charge them a late checkout fee, as is normal.
As you can see in most of my reviews the customers here at Creek Wood Village are really happy with my resort.
It makes me sad that this couple could not have spoken to me if they were so disappointed, but chose to go online and write this.
Sonja Michels
Owner/operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I decided to plan a last minute presidents day weekend ski trip for my family to Cataloochee. I first checked with another property. They had no vacancy and recommended Creekwood. I was fortunate when I called that Sonja had a cabin available for us the next day.

As we drove into Maggie Valley, everything was pretty close together and somewhat touristy near the road. The leaves were off the trees and things looked brown. It was a nice surprise to drive around the festival grounds away from the road and find a quaint row of cabins by the ponds. From the front porch I could see mountains and from the back I could see swimming mallards.

Sonja was gracious and welcomed us early. She did say she preferred cash or check, but didn't require that. We were in cabin #3 which had a room downstairs with a queen bed and a single bed. There was an upstairs loft with a double and another twin bed. There was a wood burning fireplace that we enjoyed. (It was much easier to get going with a small starter log that she helped us locate at a nearby gas station.)

I read a negative review that involved Sonja's grandson several years ago. He must have grown up a lot since then because he was very polite to me. One evening I knocked at the office door and he opened it for me as he let his grandma know that "one of the guests is here for you." Just wanted to provide that update to anyone who might be concerned by the other review...

Snow began to fall the evening we arrived and by the next morning there were icicles hanging from the porch, snow on the lawn and in the branches, and the pond was beginning to freeze. On our final morning the pond had frozen enough that the ducks would slip n slide across it as they came closer to us looking for bread. I enjoyed watching them out the kitchen window.

The festival ground provides a buffer between the main road and cabins. It was vacant during our trip but might create a less quiet atmosphere during various festivals?? This would be a super convenient location to stay if you are wanting to attend a festival and like to be very close to but a little bit away from the main drag of Maggie Valley.

The cabin was clean and adequately appointed with basic dishes and even dish soap. I did have to buy some paper towels and a pan to make brownies. The shelves provided great pantry space. The only thing I might change slightly: the laundry is done in the office near a home where there is cigarette smoke. I am particularly sensitive to cigarettes and some of the odor was on the spare sheets left folded for us on the twin bed. I hung them outside for awhile before putting them on the bed and that seemed to take care of all but the pillowcase cigarette smell. I didn't notice the smell on the other larger beds that were made when we arrived, so we just traded pillows around and opted not to even bother Sonja with it. The house itself did not smell like cigarettes, but I wanted to mention this in case anyone else is particularly sensitive.

Room Tip: Cabin 3 was nice because of the double porches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We wanted a nice cabin for the Pop corn Sutton music fest. We chose CreekWood Village and could not have been happier. The cabins are clean and very spacious. It is in a scenic location and backs up to water. Sonya, the owner, could not have been better in terms of welcoming us and giving us suggestions of things to do in the area. If we ever come back to Maggie Valley we would not consider staying any place but there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmittrudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Creek Wood Village is a small, quiet, family-friendly resort tucked away from the road and set among two scenic ponds and a rushing creek. We appreciated that the cabin was very adequately heated in addition to the wood burning fire place and made extensive use of the full kitchen. Although not fancy, the cabin was clean, welcoming, and comfortable. We were impressed with the proximity to the Cataloochee Ski Area and noticed that there wasn't any trouble getting to and from in the snow! We enjoyed sending photos to our family using the free WiFi from the rocking chairs on the front porch and on the back porch overlooking the pond--how convenient is that!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifesTooShort2Waste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We were on our 45th anniversary trip looking for a nice cabin near a steam. We wanted porches with rockers, cleanliness, easy access to shopping centers, and great places to eat. We decided we had the time to check out different places to see what they were offering for the money in Maggie Valley, NC. We planned to take a day having some fun a Harrah's Casino in Cherokee. We checked out several places before finding Creek Wood. You have to see the view to believe how beautiful this place is. The owner, Sonja Michel and her daughter Michelle manage the cabins. They are jewels. They took such good care of us that we extended our stay from 2 nights to 5 nights, and would have stayed longer had it not been for doctor appointments at home. We can hardly wait to go back and take our whole family. Skiing and snow boarding are just minutes away. They provided a notebook with nearby attractions, distance, time it takes to get to each place, and maps of the area. They also provided menus of local restaurants. I don't think that it will be too much longer before we go " back home" to Creek Wood!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelerSWC4617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callahan, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

My family and I have been going to Creekwood Village for about 30 yrs. It's like a home away from home. We always leave our home with a much needed vacation. And we always come home rested and recharged. I feel like we are going to see family when we pull up at Creekwood. Sonja, the owner goes out of her way to make our stay the best! I love looking out the kitchen window and seeing the pond with the ducks. I love walking around the pond and property. It is so peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggysuehyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
0.7 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#11 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smoky Falls Lodge
Smoky Falls Lodge
#17 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.4 mi away
Misty Mountain Ranch
Misty Mountain Ranch
#2 of 7 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekwood Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekwood Village Resort

Property: Creekwood Village Resort
Address: 3340 Soco Rd, PO Box 640, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-5100
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Creekwood Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Maggie Valley, North Carolina, yet in its own little corner of nature, the sound of the Jonathan Creek rushing by these Maggie Valley Cabins will remind you of the beauty of the Great Smoky Mountains that surround Maggie Valley. No big- city hectic lifestyle here, just tranquil atmosphere in a picturesque setting. Two and three bedroom cabins, comfortably appointed overlooking the ponds with decks and rocking chairs. The private fishing ponds, one stocked with Rainbow Trout, decorate the three and one-half acres of land. Jonathan Creek flows along one side of the property and is excellent for tubing. The creek is stocked by the state and a permit is required to fish. Maggie Valley is a state Heritage Trout Waterway. More Fishing info.Close by the Maggie Valley rentals enjoy, The Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains National Park with senic drive and countless miles of trails to explore, waterfalls, streams, horseback riding, picnicing, whitewater rafting, antiquing, fine dining, Harah's Cherokee Casino and the Cherokee Indian Reservation with history museums, shows and more.In the summer the days are temperate with highs rarly leaving the 80s while the evenings are cool in the 50s and 60s. There is even more great things to do close by. From the Biltmore Estate in Asheville 30 minutes east and the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad 30 minutes to the west, our Cabins are the great place to start your cabin rental plans.In the winter Cataloochee Ski Area challenges skiiers of all skill levels. Moody Top at over 1 mile in elevation and Cataloochee's ever improving ability to make snow as the temperatures drop, assure great skiing is close by. Tube World in the Valley is even closer to our rentals. Just at the end of the valley, you can experience the thrill of snow tubing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Creekwood Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing