We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not have guessed”
Review of The Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Valley Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

An older motel, and I might have just driven by, looking for something more modern, if one of our friends had not already made reservations.

It is American owned and operated. Andy was friendly, and helpful as where to eat nearby.
A creek runs through the back of the property, and there is a Gazebo and Fire Pit.

Rooms though not Modern, were clean and comfortable.

Motorcycle Friendly.

Would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in back overlooking the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 241 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at Valley Inn two nights with friends on motorcycles. Our room was clean and faced the creek. Andy has swings, chairs, gazebo and fire pit setup on the creek..a great place to visit, relax and enjoy nature. Good location..plenty of food choices nearby. Drinks, snacks and ice avail at the office at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

our visit to smokies this weekend was a last minute planning..so there was no time to hunt for a cabin. the highlight of our trip was a train ride from Bryson city, so was looking of stay options there. but all the good and decent hotels/motels and B&B's were booked! while looking for alernate options read about Maggie Valley. approx 50 mins from Bryson city, a real small town with a charm of its own. after reading through alot of reviews we decided to stay at the Valley Inn. i called up the immediately and luckiy he had just 2 rooms left. we booked for a queen bed.. and were given the room no 47.. on the first floor by the creek side! i should be honest, this was our first time at staying at a small motel. but as we pulled in we were more than surprised at our ignorance. the place was nice, neat and well maintained. Andy was there in the office room to greet us and give us a quick info about the dining options around. the room was just sufficient for us for the night. there was a queen bed, extra pillows and blankets. a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a smal tv. Andy was nice enough to actually have switched on the heater in the room well before we arrived, so it was nice and warm. the bathroom was neat and had sufficient towels stacked. it was everything we'd need for a decent price. i wouldnt say a negative point, we arent used to the spring box matrix, so that was the only lil unfavourable part of the stay.
right outside the room was the creek, we could hear it from inside itself. there was a gazebo, a camp fire pit, some swings and sufficient chairs for guests to sit.
the morning was my fav part of the stay, we got some coffee and donuts from NutMeg cafe, and sat by the creek side on the swings enjoying the prestine morn! its just something else to sit by ad listen to the watre flow sipping some hot coffee!
we sure will visit Valley Inn again when we are in the smokies!

Room Tip: ask for a creekside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReYo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Valley Inn is a wonderful place to kick back and relax. The rooms are clean and our rooms were right on the creek. There are rocking chairs on the porches and swings on the creekside to sit and watch the world go by. There is a fire pit for building a fire and talking over the days adventures at night. We loved this place and will stay there again. The owners were friendly and very the motel was very afforable. There were 8 in our group and everyone said it was the place to stay in Maggie Valley.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Valley Inn offers a quiet, relaxing place to stay. We slept with the windows up and listened to the creek. Rooms are a little on the old side but for the price its unbeatable. The inn is owned by a very nice couple that were very helpful and thorough when cleaning the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have stayed here many times and last weekend was perfect as always. Clean rooms. Soft luxurious towels and sheets. Andy always makes sure you have everything you need for a comfortable stay. He even provided marshmallows and roasting sticks for the campfire. Very motorcycle friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbpuzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at The Valley Inn quite by accident. We were supposed to go ziplining, but an untimely thunderstorm delayed our activity until the next morning. The Valley Inn was recommended as "a great mom and pop hotel right down the road." Upon pulling into the parking lot, the first thing I noticed were the rocking chairs sitting on the porch outside of each room.

Andy Taylor (yes that's really his name - and yes, he really deserves it) and his wife, Linda, the proprietors, impressed us immediately with their friendly conversation and open ways. Another guest lit a bonfire out back, beside a beautiful creek that runs along the property. My teenagers dumped their ipods and cell phones when Andy gave us a bag of marshmallows he keeps in the office, and spent the evening running, jumping and roasting marshmallows and hot dogs over the open fire, while I chatted with the other guests and then went and sat in the rocking chair reading a great novel I'd brought along.

This was the best evening of our vacation and as the mom of 2 busy teenagers, I cannot put into words the sheer pleasure of seeing my kids so enjoy the outdoors while acting like kids! And as they say on the American Express commercials - the whole experience was priceless!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
516 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
296 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#10 of 25 in Maggie Valley
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley Inn

Address: 236 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9663
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Maggie Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range: $39 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valley Inn is located in beautiful and scenic Maggie Valley. We are located approximately 8 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, 15 miles from Harrah's Cherokee Casino, and 18 miles from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. If you don't want to travel far; you will find shopping, snow tubing, skiing and many other things to do right in town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Maggie
The Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing