We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good food"”
Review of Butts on the Creek

Butts on the Creek
Ranked #16 of 40 Restaurants in Maggie Valley
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rose Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Good food"”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our first time eating here and the food was good and not as expensive as other places in Maggie Valley. I think for 14.97 you received a half rack of ribs (that was pretty good; not the best I've ever ate though), 1/4 lb pulled pork, two sides (I got the fried corn and parsley potatoes and they were delicious) and a piece of toast. I feel like it was a good price for really good food. We will definitely stop again when we are in Maggie Valley.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    107
    72
    36
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calhoun, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“RIBS”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by a local, this little place lived up to it's recommendation. A half rack of ribs,with fried corn on the cob and parsled potatoes swimming in butter defeated me utterly. The salad with smoked chicken was huge and Marty could not eat it all and she is the salad queen. Three sauces to choose from, regular smoky, sweet/tangy and red hot. All very tasty. Order at the front counter, pay, fix your own drink, put your number on your table and get ready to enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just not what it used to be!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Going to Butts on the Creek used to be the highlight of our trip to Maggie Valley but each year they continue to reduce their menu. Now it is nothing but bar-b-que and starch. They used to have great vegetables and wonderful bar-b-que with a variety of sauce and other selections as well but each year when we go the menu has been whittled down. This year we went in and the menu was on a chalkboard and they didn't even have table service. We had to order at the counter. Quiet honestly after last year I was surprised they were still open. It is too bad because it used to be a great restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cbsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yearly Visits”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We've been coming to Maggie Valley for several years and always stop here for food. Great setting, good food and friendly staff. My children love the glass- blowing gift shop on the other side of the restaurant. Stopping here again in August.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Good location great atmosphere. The people are nice but my 5 year old would not eat the ribs and mine went in the trash. It's bad when you half to put ketchup on ribs and still can't choke them down. Try at own risk.

Helpful?
2 Thank jwo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butts on the Creek also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Butts on the Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing