We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ”
Review of Butts on the Creek

Butts on the Creek
Ranked #16 of 42 Restaurants in Maggie Valley
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

BBQ is excellent with fair portions. The eating area is above Jonathan Creek which makes for a lovely view, nice and shady. Who can beat the sound of a rushing creek while eating?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rentayenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    116
    73
    36
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clyde, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“really good barbeque!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My family went to eat here and it was so delicious. My daughter had the ribs, I had beef bar-b-cue, and my husband had the pulled pork. We sat on their porch beside the creek and enjoyed the fresh mountain air as well as the food. If you visit Maggie Valley, you have to eat here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must Check It Out”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Excellent food and friendly service! We particularly enjoyed the ribs and fried corn. We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JonesFamily323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindale, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very Good BBQ - Huge Portions - Super nice Staff”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you like BBQ this is the place to visit in Maggie Valley. They smoke all of their BBQ in large smokers on the property. The smell of the BBQ will make your mouth start watering. I love the BBQ platter and their onion rings. My wife loved the pork ribs and the potato salad & baked beans. The servers here went out of their way to make us feel at home and were always checking our needs. They have most any type of drink that you could possibly want, but I loved their Homemade Lemonade. Great Place to enjoy a wonderful meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale_Shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel (Canton), North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Has a better reputation than menu”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having lived in WNC for 8 years, I only recently visited Butts on the Creek for the first time a few weeks ago. I hadn't been aware that it does not offer table service, but that's not a major point. There are a lot of good restaurants in the area that don't offer table service, but Butts on the Creek isn't one of them. There aren't any smaller meals offered, so I ordered the barbecue sandwich which was MAYBE okay, but no better than that. Loving corn, I ordered the fried corn-on-the-cob which was even more of a disappointment than the sandwich. When I was there the atmosphere could best be described as "loud." I won't be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobEtier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butts on the Creek also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Butts on the Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing