We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best BBQ I have ever ate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Butts on the Creek

Butts on the Creek
Ranked #15 of 39 Restaurants in Maggie Valley
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fleetwood, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best BBQ I have ever ate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I didn't really like the whole -order and pay right when you walk in the door before you even sit down- set up they have but the food was GREAT and the dessert was AWESOME! I enjoyed browsing in the gift shop. There are some pretty amazing blown glass sculptures at very reasonable prices. We will definitely be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaCheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    106
    71
    36
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Butts on the Creek has a scenic location -- you dine overlooking a beautiful wooded stream. It's definitely informal - you order and pay when you enter, and they bring your food out pretty quickly. The ribs and pulled pork were both very good -- the pork as served was a bit bland, but with the choice of the sauces provided, tasted fine!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tdawson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had the the pulled pork with ribs. The pork was good but the ribs were pretty fatty. This is the second time I have had the same problem. We will go back, I will just avoid the ribs.

It is a great place to sit on the patio and enjoy the creek while you eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good BBQ in a Great Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited during my week long visit to the Maggie Valley area with some friends. The food was good, the sounds of the river flowing was sweet to the ears, and the service was great! We each ordered the Fried Corn on the Cob, and it was good, but would've been better with a flavored butter. BBQ Sandwich was very tasty!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I took our four children (ages 8,6,4 and 2) to this place and we all loved it. The location is very relaxing and casual. The servers were kind with the southern hospitality. I had been there before like 10 years ago and loved it so it was great to go back and it was still amazing.

The food was also incredible. We had ribs and pulled pork. Everything was the best I have ever had.

If you are looking for great BBQ and a calm place to eat, this is it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butts on the Creek also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Butts on the Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing