We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful dining view from a screened porch!”
Review of Butts on the Creek

Butts on the Creek
Ranked #15 of 42 Restaurants in Maggie Valley
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Hemingway, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful dining view from a screened porch!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I loved the view from the porch, overlooking Jonathan Creek. Fried corn on the cob was good too. The casseroles were all tasty. The BBQ Chicken and pork was good, but not what I am used to. It was cooked over the pit without seasoning, so you put the sauces you want on the meat when it gets to your table.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ladycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    116
    73
    36
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, NC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Butt's on the Creek was one of the first bbq places my wife and I ate at when we moved here 12 years ago. We weren't that impressed. Yes, the BBQ is good, but just average, nothing to brag about. We were intrigued by the name, and it DOES sit on Soco Creek that runs through Maggie Valley. I don't like their method of ordering...you stand in line, then place your order chosen from a large menu board.
If you want good, but average BBQ, then I'd still recommend it...just to say you ate at Butts on The Creek.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good variety of options on the menu and delicious food! If you are looking for a BBQ place, then Butts on the Creek is worth a try. :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FitTrainer91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Closed for the winter. Too bad because the food is really, really good.”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Ate there two years ago and the food was good and the staff friendly and helpful. So sorry it was closed for the winter. Tried a place in Waynesville near a Rite Aid and was very disappointed. Look forward to going to Butts next time we are in the area, perhaps next summer. If it is open, give it a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cookieglowaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food and cute atmosphere”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped at Butts on the Creek on our way to Harrah's. The restaurant is down a hill a bit facing Jonathan Creek.

The inside of the restaurant is decorated as a log cabin. There is a gift shop taking up half of the front of the building offering glass trinkets which are kind of cute.

For a BBQ restaurant, they have a good menu. They have a combination of BBQ sandwiches and plates you can choose from and a good dessert selection. Their banana pudding is delicious!

The rear dining room faces Jonathan Creek and is "glassed" in for the winter. The glass panels are removable (they're really just plexiglass) for the spring and summer. It was kind of cold during our visit, but in fairness it was very cold outside and we were sitting on what really amounts to a screened-in porch.

Do be aware that if you drive a car which is low to the ground that their parking lot is going to be difficult for you. My car has factory moldings around the bottom and sides of it and the front bumper is low. Going both ways up and down the hill to get to their front door was difficult and caused my car to scrub.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RGE29680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butts on the Creek also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Butts on the Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing