We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of J. Arthur's Restaurant

J. Arthur's Restaurant
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a fourth generation restaurant business (Manero's on the east Coast and in south Florida) who has owned and J. Arthur's in Maggie Valley for thirty years. We specialize in steaks, our succulent prime rib, seafood and a variety of other American dishes. Known for our world famous Gorgonzola cheese salad and delicious French onion soup, often times customers makes a meal of just these two. We have an upstairs private room which seats 25 and open seating upstairs where we can accommodate up to 75 for special events. Our dress is casual and our motto is 'always bring the children.' We also cater parties from 40 to 1500. Reservations are suggested but not necessary1 We hope to see you soon! We are open thanksgiving Day from noon to 6pm -reservations strongly suggested . We are closed Christmas day
Sylva
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We made reservations for Thanksgiving for 8. Nice selection of offerings. Several of us had the typical Thanksgiving fare. All enjoyed the food. It was hot and timely. Service was good as well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WNCHappyGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    176
    133
    63
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was a change of pace for us, but the food was very good and the service was also good, it was a little pricey but still had a good expierence. had to wait a little while to be seated but not bad

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beatuscaloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice folks, good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice place for dinner in Maggie Valley! Homey and comfortable atmosphere and the kids liked watching the train travel back and forth around the restaurant. Homemade meatloaf and mashed potatoes were a hit and Cobb salad with grilled chicken was delish! $7 kids meal was a bit pricey for a couple chicken fingers and fries, but we walked out full and happy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wally2plus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Kentucky
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Non-chain great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a review of my second visit to this restaurant. The first was two years ago and it was great. At that time the wife and I both had the prime rib. This time I came with 6 people total. We ordered a widely varied array of items and had drinks and appetizers. Everything was very good. The service was attentive and not rushed. The young man that served us was obviously not a career waiter... but was up to the task of making my party of 6 happy. The house wine was OK, and I was pleased with the selection of draft beer they had on tap. Two others ordered margaritas and another a martini. The drinks were large and good.

We ordered raw oysters, that were very adequate for a non-seafood restaurant, and onion rings that were lightly battered and very good. The French onion soup could be a meal for some. I had the meatloaf, which was very tasty and different. I would get it again. Everybody had something different and everyone was impressed with the quality of the food. The late afternoon, 5 o'clock dinner time was perfect for us. The cost was below what you might pay in a chain restaurant. This place is on my list to return to when we get back to Maggie Valley.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rsdata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very convenient location in the heard of Maggie's Valley. Excellent service and delicious entrees, must try the fried oysters!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lee_leeNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Arthur's Restaurant also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to J. Arthur's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing