We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally disappointed!!”
Review of Ghost Town in the Sky - CLOSED

Ghost Town in the Sky
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ghost Town In The Sky was built literally on top of a mountain in one of America’s most beautiful regions, and the park’s uniqueness and incredible location has attracted families to Western North Carolina for decades.Ghost Town In The Sky was conceived by the late R. B. Coburn, who was inspired to build a park with a western theme after visiting several ghost towns in the American West. In 1960, Coburn purchased Buck Mountain near Maggie Valley as the sight of his town, and construction began in September of 1960 with the help of a few investors, including Ms. Alaska Presley. Over two hundred locals were hired to construct the 40 replica buildings that comprised the Western Town, which is located at the Mountain’s peak. A double incline railway was also constructed to bring its passengers to the entrance of Ghost Town, located at over 3300 feet up the mountainside. The park opened in May of 1961, and since then new rides and attractions have been added throughout the years.Ghost Town has entertained millions of guests throughout the country. Ghost Town was built and opened in a time of uncertainty: bomb shelters were common, Americans were faced with the Cold War and Bay of Pigs, and the President was assassinated. The sixties movement was stirring up the conservatives from the fifties. Popular movies on the Silver screen were Westerns with hero-figures such as John Wayne and Roy Rogers. Television was becoming a household commodity, and shows such as Bonanza, Big Valley, Rawhide and Gunsmoke featured Wild West heroes that children could admire.Ghost Town brought that Hollywood glamour and action to life. Cowboys interacted with the children, much in a similar manner that they do today, and were heroic. Ghost Town was a true escape from reality.Ghost Town closed its doors in 2002 after 41 years of successful operation. Coburn sold the property to in August, 2006, who attempted to revive the park, but ended up closing at the end of the 2009 season. Alaska Presley, one of the original investors, purchased the park in the spring of 2012 and will be opening the park in various phases.Those children who have been to Ghost Town now have kids and grandchildren of their own, and the parents that took their kids in the past now have grandchildren and great grandchildren that will enjoy Ghost Town again.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Totally disappointed!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited Aug. 4, 2014 with my husband and I was excited looking up at the lift that takes you up the mountain. When we got to the top there were no rides open and the just a small section was open. The live show only lasted about 1 min. And it was pathetic. The can-can girls were entirely to old for the job. I looked around and all I saw was disappointment in the faces of parents and children. The ticket price was about 25 dollars per person and we felt ripped off, 5 dollars would have been more fitting for the experience. They should be ashamed of them selves for continuing to keep that relic open and ripping people off!!!!

Helpful?
11 Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    12
    18
    69
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ghost town.”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Took my kids to ghost town in the sky this weekend. They advertised and charge like there are rides and several levels of fun when in reality the best part of the trip to ghost town was the chair lift. there's 3 little kiddie rides that's all a few others but they are not working. The holy land is not open. My kids did enjoy the gun fight outside the saloon and playing a few "fair like" games but there was not a lot to do there at all! Its not what it was when I was a kid! I was also looking forward to a chair lift photo with my kids but thats not open either! I was really disappointed!! Otherwise Maggie valley and Cherokee where great we loved it and will be back but we will visit Santa land next time not ghost town.

Helpful?
7 Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Misrepresentation in brochure !”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Ghost Town reopened and their beautiful shiny professional brochure (currently being handed out on site and in the community) says: ADMISSION price $24.95, THRILL RIDES , exciting shows, etc. The brochure does NOT call the ticket price a "transportation fee"! Nor does it say that the ONLY thrill ride is a zip line that you can pay another $45/person to do!
Well, the whole thing is a SCAM and someone should be held responsible for their misrepresentation for what is really on site! A creaky ride on the chair lift (is it even safe?), NO other rides operating (three child rides were closed and there ARE NO ADULT RIDES in running order), shows that are performed by less than talented dancers and actors/actresses (one of the guy's belt, holster and gun fell off during the show and he was caught in his chair and couldn't stand up; during the shoot out no one ever jumped off the building), DIRTY run-down restrooms and gift shops with only made in China products. The train was not even running! We were afraid to eat any of the food cooked there--the only thing I saw open was the pizza place--fudge shop and all other dining was closed! Our visit was the last week of July so it's not even the end of their season. It took one hour to walk the grounds and ride back down to safety. As you EXIT, there is a sign that says "NO REFUNDS ON TRANSPORTATION FEES". How can the town of Maggie Valley allow this place to misrepresent what is available? It is giving the area a bad name...we heard this from many people who were vacationing while there. One couple with five children was disappointed that they couldn't get the "return the second day if you arrive after 3" tickets because the park was closed on Tues. They decided to not purchase tickets and the kids were so upset. I wanted to scream--"go somewhere else! You can do this place in one hour!" For many people with families, one hundred is a big chunk of vacation money and it's sad that Ghost Town is allowed to bilk people this way. We'll not go back to Maggie Valley area to vacation again (and usually I am the one who wants to extend our stay wherever we go). The area is in decline and it's so sad since it was such a great place in years past.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
14 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ghost town is dead”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Family was so disappointed when we reached the top of the best part the chair lift. Nothing is working none of the rides so when you get to the top you can see the short show eat a slice of pizza or ice cream and that's it. And we paid $100.00 for this.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Sdean1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Could be Better . . . It is what it is, Give it some time to open completely”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We visited in July 2014, 1 month after the re-opening. It cost $30/person, which included the skylift up and back. For the skylift rides, atmosphere, and the one show we saw, we got our money's worth. That being said, there is much to be improved upon, and after they get up and running completely it will be much better!

Specifically, the roller coaster ride wasn't working (see photo), the train at the top wasn't running (see photo), and many of the bathrooms weren't working (see photo). We were only able to find pizza and ice cream for food. The skylift had a photo place, but they are also out of order (see photo). I would have really liked to purchase a photo of us on the skylift. We had a lot of trouble finding a bathroom, and when we did find one, it was obviously out of order, but not blocked off. The stores barely sell any merchandise.

There was NO ALCOHOL! Yikes! Since there were saloons advertised, we figured we could at least sit in the saloon and drink a beer while watching a show. They sold $2 soda in cans instead. I'm guessing it's difficult to get an alcohol distribution license on the top of the mountain, but that would definitely help make this place better.

We did see a bank robbery show. Apparently a church session was about to start at the church before we left. All in all, if you want a skylift ride and to spend some time in a nice atmosphere, then this is a fun place to go to. If you are expecting roller coasters, train rides, photo opts, saloon shows, food, alcohol, and bathrooms, then maybe you should wait another year and try again.

I'm giving this place 3 stars based on it's potential. This would be a 2 star rating based on the current state.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Frodo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghost Town in the Sky also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing