We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 360 view”
Review of Waterrock Knob

Waterrock Knob
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great 360 view”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great short hike. Gets steep at times, but my 10 year old niece who had never been to the mountains before did great. Plenty of places to sit and rest if needed. Some areas are not paved/rocky so take care. Lots of sun...bring sun block. Loved the views all along the hike. Picnic areas and bathrooms at bottom parking lot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    29
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I decided to stop here on our Blue Ridge Parkway adventure and we were not disappointed! The views are spectacular! We walked the quarter mile to the first "stop", which was fairly easy. My husband, who is much older, insisted on pressing on to the top; I was a little leary since the trail is very rugged. We compromised by going about halfway for more amazing scenery. Glad that we made the hike!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tkontheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Steep trail”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Took my wife to the very top with a bottle of wine in hand. The trail was steep and our thighs were burning, but the trail is not that long and there are plenty of benches along the trail to rest. At the top there are several outlets that give you a breathtaking view of the landscape. The sunsets out there are very, very beautiful as well and I would recommend going at that time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great vistas”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A short drive from Maggie Valley. Nice views from the parking lot, and you can take the short but steep trail to get another view.
It is on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level Contributor
639 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Amazing place. Don't miss it!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite local escape. The scenery is breathtaking and there is never any problem parking. We often bring picnic lunch or grab a nearby sub sandwich and watch the sunset from the picnic tables. You will also meet great people from all over the world that are here to visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank OpinionGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterrock Knob also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Waterrock Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing