We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!....clean, comfortable, and reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Loved this place! We had a screened-in porch on the creekside=great sleeping and atmosphere. My 7 year old and I loved the pool, so much we had to return in the morning, including a hot tub visit! The place did not feel like a "hotel", but more like a home away from home. The shower water stayed hot, even though completely booked, and the staff was A+++. The only thing that bewildered me is that the staff was gone and everything was closed after 10pm, unless you had a lockout(regular key vs electronic key), but we had no problems. The staff was very informative and knew the local area well. Would stay in a place like this everywhere we traveled, if it was available. Looking forward to returning again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay!
We keep the desk open from 7:30 AM until 11:00 PM. Over the 18 years we have owned it
we quickly found out that Maggie Valley is pretty quiet after 10 PM, and have chosen not to actively staff it after that time. We DO however have a staff member who has an apartment on the property and is available for emergencies during the night.
Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 620 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is not a review about a recent stay but about our many stays. We Have stayed any many places both in Maggie Valley and all over the country. We have found no better place. We love this place so much we gave my parents a trip here for their 50th anniversary 2 years ago. my wife and I stay every chance we get and now we are meeting my brothers and their families their in May. We can't wait to just relax.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougie466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We hope your parents had a wonderful time on their very special 50th Anniversary!
See you in May!
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My daughter and I went to Maggie Valley for a spring break ski trip. We didn't have reservations and just stopped by Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas and WOW it could not have been better. It is small and quant, but immaculate. The rooms were right on the river with an individual porch on the back overlooking the river. They also had grills on the river. The hot tub on the river was really nice. When you think of the mountains this motel fit right in. The staff was wonderful and helpful. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Suzy,
We're glad you enjoyed your stay! We fell in love with this spot, in 1996, when we bought it. One look at the views of the mountains and Jonathan Creek in the back, and we knew we had the perfect spot!
Thanks for your review.
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at this motel because of the wonderful reviews. We were not disappointed! When we arrived we were amazed at how quiet and cozy it was! The office staff was amazing....very friendly and helpful! As far as price....excellent! As we walked to our room you could hear the creek....so peaceful and visible from our room! They also have a beautiful gazebo, a hammock, and there are rocking chairs in front of the rooms! Unfortunately, we were not able to enjoy them because of the weather, but we will return again! It seems like this place has had a recent renovation! Everything was in perfect condition and the room was spotless! Thank you so much for the wonderful stay! We've found a new favorite place to stay in the mountains!

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Patrick_Wolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

We are glad you had a wonderful stay. Sorry about the rain! We have been renovating our rooms, and we are glad you noticed.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review!
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My girlfriend Kelly and I have stayed here twice now. Once in October for my birthday and then February for a nice valentines weekend. From beginning to end the stays have been phenomenal in "our" room. The staff is very friendly and attentive. On our last visit I even brought my own little charcoal grill and grilled ribeyes, asparagus and lobster tails for my special lady. I grilled right outside of our back door in the snow with the creek as the back drop. It was divine! The rooms are always clean and I love the upgrades that you guys have done since the last visit.
Beware though!!! If you want to sleep in past 6 or 7 am get an upstairs room! I love being on the bottom floor because I have direct access to the creek and walkway right out of the back door. But, on both visits we have been woken up before 6 am with children running back and forth and jumping all over the place getting ready to go skiing. I totally understand that children are going to be children especially when they are about to go skiing. But, on both occasions I have made sure to mention this to the front desk and on both occasions I was told that it is ski season and that I should get an upstairs room. Not really the answer I was looking for. Maybe, what I would like to hear is "oh, I am sorry about that and I will give the room a call to ask them to keep it down a bit".

That is not going to stop us from continuing to stay at the Inn at all, we will just have to stay above our favorite room on future visits and lose out on my direct creek access back door. :-(

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DaDawgs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thanks for your review. I want to apologize for our failure to respond in a positive way to your complaint about noise. We do realize that wood floors and ski boots and trying to get to the slopes early can be an issue. In all of our rooms we have added a special eco sound pad under the wood floors to help absorb as much sound as possible. It has helped quite a bit. I will also discuss your comments with the staff, both the good and the comment about handling the complaint better!
You are 100% right in the fact that the first comment should have been, that we would contact the noisy party immediately and ask them to quiet down.
We are glad you still love us and will be back again. We do have some rooms on the first floor that tend to be much quieter then others. Ask one of the staff, Alice, Keith or Wanda to put you in one of those and I believe you can still enjoy your direct access to the creek!
Once again, thanks for your comments. We truly appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your return visit.
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have stayed in Maggie Valley many times in the past. Renting cabins or staying in hotels. We never even noticed Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas! Its only about 1/2 mile from the road to Cataloochee Ski area and we were always looking for Ski Lodge Road. When you find Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, you wonder why you never noticed such a GREAT place! Its comfortable, peaceful and quaint. The staff is wonderful, accommodating and easy to work with, some are simply a hoot to talk too, we loved every minute of our stay. We will be back next winter, but we may visit this fall too....!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Hi, Thanks for writing a "perfect" review! We're glad you enjoyed staying with us. It sounds like you had a great time skiing too.
Fall is an absolute beautiful time in the mountains, we look forward to you coming back to enjoy the leaves before the next ski season.
Until then..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed in Villa # 8. We arrived to a great start after a long trip. Desk attendant was very helpful. He was really busy when I made the reservationn but took the time to make sure I understood faxing the paperwork back. When we arrived, he was there as well. He was just as nice in person. He directed to us to the Villa #8 with easy, clear directions. He informed us the Hot Tub was cleaned and ready for our arrival. The house was cleaned and setup ready for our relaxation. We didn't know this was the busiest day of the year for them, Presidents Day, with the great snowfall as well. Nothing was out of place. I'll recommned Jonathan Creek to our friends and family and we are expecting to return this summer.

Room Tip: We treated ourselves to a villa, but the price was really not that bad for what we got. A house wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your villa. They are such a great value and sit in such a beautiful setting along the creek!
We look forward to your visiting with us again soon.
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review about us.
Jeff Smith
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
1.7 mi away
Smoky Falls Lodge
Smoky Falls Lodge
#14 of 25 in Maggie Valley
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas

Address: 4324 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range: $71 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous property with great mountain views and an unbelievable creekside settings. Rooms with lots of decks, some with Hot Tubs, fireplaces. Refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers all rooms. All rooms recently renovated. Villas/cabins that sleep from 2-18. Fully Equipped with everything you need, plus your own hot tub! Outdoor public hot tub overlooking the creek, Indoor pool. Children's playground. Best location for skiing and being centrally located to all of the areas attractions. Try one of our wonderful creekside rooms with your own private screened porch. Gazebo, Picnic area, Trout stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonathan Creek Inn And Villas Hotel Maggie Valley
Jonathan Creek Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing