We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place in a great loction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We converged on Maggie Valley with a group of 12 motorcycles and 20 people. We chose the Jonathan Creek Inn because (1) of its location in the middle of the area we were riding in and (2) some friends had stayed there several years ago and had good things to say about the motel.

When I contacted the motel and talked to Alice, she could not have been friendley and more accomidating. The motel itself was clean and well appointed. There is no on site restaurant but there is a great restaurant next door and a great breakfast place across the street,

The rooms were clean and well equiped. The back door to the rooms opened to a large deck and gazebo area that bordered on a clear running creek in back of the motel. The gazebo area quickly became a gathering point not only for us but other guest at the motel as well.

The bottom line is the motel was a great place for us to stay. The service was exceptional and the rates were reasonable. We will go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hi,
Thanks for writing you review. We've been doing a lot of upgrades to the rooms since your stay
in October so when you come back again we hope you enjoy it even more!
Hope you had a great Holiday Season!
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
There are newer reviews for Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 614 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here two nights in December 2013. The office staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The lobby contains a gift shop, plus sells things that you may have forgotten at home (toothbrush, deodorant, ibuprofen, etc), plus there is hot chocolate available for free. The pool was just the right temperature, and the hot tub out back, while older, was really nice. The creek is beautiful, and they have done an excellent job making it a pleasant place to sit and enjoy the surroundings. The rooms, while on the smaller side (not a big deal for us), were very clean and well-maintained. The beds are comfortable. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slevesque4413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.
Happy New Year!
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have stayed here at Jonathan's Creek Inn several times and each time I feel like I am coming home one more time. We feel so safe here and the staff is excellent in responding when you need something. It is always yes mam here. Oh and Brandy, she is a doll. She does an excellent job of taking care of cleaning the rooms to perfection. I have talked with her and the maintenance guy, and also just about everyone that works the front desk and they all feel like family. Could not ask for a better place to stay.
We will be back very soon. Save us a room on the first floor because these old bones cant take many stairs any more. :)
Cant wait to get back!!!

Room Tip: Room right on the creek with screen porch. Very quite except for the rushing of the water that will...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy Jackson Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Judy,
We're glad you enjoyed your visit again. Remember HOME is where the heart is.
We hope you come home again soon. I'll make sure Brandy reads your review. My part of the heaven experience here, is being blessed with such a great caring staff!
Happy Holidays!
Jeff and the staff at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was our first stay at Jonathan Creek Inn. We stayed in a room on the first floor with a King bed and a screened in back porch. We arrived on Wed the day before Thanksgiving and it was snowing all day and very cold. We arrived and were welcomed by the friendly staff. Our room was very nice and clean and we were surprised to see hardwood floors in the room, a very nice touch to the matching wood furniture. The back screened in porch looked out onto the rolling water creek and it was very nice, plenty of space and wood benches to sit and enjoy the nice snow. We were very surprised at how well maintained and kept this place was. You can tell that the owners really take pride in their hotel and keep it very well maintained. We very much enjoyed the lobby of the hotel where you could get hot coffee or cider all day long and sit and play board games or read a book by a fireplace. We have stayed in Maggie Valley many times and enjoy eating at Joey's Pancake House during our stay and it is right across the street. Also Jonathan Creek Inn is just a few blocks from the tubing hill where you can ride inner tubes down a snowy hill, they had plenty of snow and was still making snow while we were there. Again this is a nice place and we hope to come back with friends and stay in one of the Villas. Thanks again Jonathan Creek Inn staff for a great 3 night stay, we had a blast going to the Grove Park Inn for Thanksgiving brunch in Asheville and riding the Polar Express in Bryson. Our children had a blast and we will be back.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a downstairs room with a screened in porch, they are very nice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thanks so much for writing such a great review! Since your visit over Thanksgiving, we have removed all of our vanity tops, sinks and counter tops and replaced them with granite. We have also completed 16 more rooms of flooring. We will have 17 rooms left to do after January 5th. The project will be done in January about 2 months ahead of schedule.
We look forward to your return! Happy holidays!
Jeff Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I am a road warrior at my job and rely on the big chain hotels to avoid "surprises" around the world. Routine and expectations are critical, so I stay where I know. When I stumbled across the Jonathan on TA (we were looking for a weekend road trip "base camp"), I was intrigued, but still wanted to book at a nearby chain. My bride (of twenty-eleven years) convinced me to roll the dice.

What a delight! Well appointed rooms with Jacuzzi tub, gas fireplace, and lots of amenities. But the real ambiance is outside. Many decks at different levels along the creek, chairs and benches abound, a few hammocks, and some charcoal grills.

There is a stellar restaurant next door that has creek-side dining; and there are a couple of good breakfast joints on the main drag (one across the street).

This is my first excellent rating on TA as I hold those for places unique and distinct. The Jonathon's beautiful grounds and well appointed (equal to / better than major chains) rooms met all of my expectations. If relaxing dining / grilling / enjoying a drink in the forest next to a stream (with a creek-side screened-in hot tub!) is your idea of pleasure, the Jonathan provides it all, with your bedroom just steps away!!!

Upon checkout, I mentioned to the missus of the property that the Jonathon was clearly a labor of love - and yes, she fully concurred.

Room Tip: The website has good details. In example, some rooms have screened in balconies, others very close t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Red-Badger-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

What a great review! Thanks we appreciate it so very much. You are right, It is a never ending Labor of Love to operate the Jonathan Creek Inn. Luckily we have an unbelievable staff, that loves it as much as we do.
We are in the process of doing several upgrades to the property, including all new wood floors and granite countertops on all the bathroom vanities.
We hope you come back and see us soon.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have stayed in several hotels in the Maggie Valley/Waynesville area, and there is just something special about Jonathan Creek Inn. Rooms are nice and comfortable; everything was in working order; and the staff was friendly and offered good advice on things to do in the area. Excellent pool area is enclosed for winter months, and there is a large hot tub. There is a pond with fish, a small playground, and well kept grounds. When you are in the back of the inn on the creek, it's like you are a world away. Most rooms have a deck or porch on the creek. We are looking forward to staying here again, and maybe we will get one of the villas and bring the whole family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thanks for your great review. We appreciate you choosing us very much!
Until the next time.
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent one night here and enjoyed our stay, especially the deck overlooking the creek. I think we had one of the better rooms due to the fact it was the one closest to the creek on the first floor. The weather was on the cool but comfortable side, so we opened the windows and listened to the running water. The room we had was fairly large with a queen bed and even had a gas fireplace. Very friendly lady, one of the owners I think, that checked us in made us feel at home. Nice place but I felt the price was a little high since it is an old establishment but in comparing it to other hotels in the area it was in the ball part. I guess Maggie Valley is a tourist attraction so that drives the price up. This was our 4th night on vacation and the other hotels we had stayed at were fairly new (chain hotels) so that made this one look even older. It seems they are constantly doing improvements and I was told that this winter they are putting in hardwood floors; this would be a great improvement since carpet has a tendency to be somewhat dirty even if vacuumed daily. They had just updated the TV/internet connections so there were lots of channels and a pretty fast internet connection. If we're in the area again we’ll most likely give it another try considering they are making improvements.

Room Tip: Try to get room 118 or 218, these 2 rooms are the closest to the creek.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We try to make improvements every year.
Sometimes they are not as visible as in other years. This last year we had to do a lot of roofs,
and deal with several mechanical things. We did just rewire the cable and internet.
Last year we did 6 of our rooms with laminate wood floors to see if that was the route we wanted to take. While a lot more expensive we have decided that our guests really liked the ones we did.
Starting early November we will replace the ones that need new carpeting first and then continue until they are all eventually done. We will also be refinishing most of our wood furniture in the rooms as well as replacing some of the vanity sinks. The process really never ends.
While we are not a franchise we believe we offer something much better. A home away from home.
Most of my staff has been here for many years and know and treat, our guests, like family. Yes we are getting a few years older, but aren't we all!
Thanks again.. We look forward to your return visit.
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
1.7 mi away
Smoky Falls Lodge
Smoky Falls Lodge
#15 of 25 in Maggie Valley
62 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas

Address: 4324 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range: $73 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous property with great mountain views and an unbelievable creekside settings. Rooms with lots of decks, some with Hot Tubs, fireplaces. Refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers all rooms. All rooms recently renovated. Villas/cabins that sleep from 2-18. Fully Equipped with everything you need, plus your own hot tub! Outdoor public hot tub overlooking the creek, Indoor pool. Children's playground. Best location for skiing and being centrally located to all of the areas attractions. Try one of our wonderful creekside rooms with your own private screened porch. Gazebo, Picnic area, Trout stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonathan Creek Inn And Villas Hotel Maggie Valley
Jonathan Creek Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing