We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love The Creek In The Back Of The Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Love The Creek In The Back Of The Hotel”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent one night here and enjoyed our stay, especially the deck overlooking the creek. I think we had one of the better rooms due to the fact it was the one closest to the creek on the first floor. The weather was on the cool but comfortable side, so we opened the windows and listened to the running water. The room we had was fairly large with a queen bed and even had a gas fireplace. Very friendly lady, one of the owners I think, that checked us in made us feel at home. Nice place but I felt the price was a little high since it is an old establishment but in comparing it to other hotels in the area it was in the ball part. I guess Maggie Valley is a tourist attraction so that drives the price up. This was our 4th night on vacation and the other hotels we had stayed at were fairly new (chain hotels) so that made this one look even older. It seems they are constantly doing improvements and I was told that this winter they are putting in hardwood floors; this would be a great improvement since carpet has a tendency to be somewhat dirty even if vacuumed daily. They had just updated the TV/internet connections so there were lots of channels and a pretty fast internet connection. If we're in the area again we’ll most likely give it another try considering they are making improvements.

Room Tip: Try to get room 118 or 218, these 2 rooms are the closest to the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We try to make improvements every year.
Sometimes they are not as visible as in other years. This last year we had to do a lot of roofs,
and deal with several mechanical things. We did just rewire the cable and internet.
Last year we did 6 of our rooms with laminate wood floors to see if that was the route we wanted to take. While a lot more expensive we have decided that our guests really liked the ones we did.
Starting early November we will replace the ones that need new carpeting first and then continue until they are all eventually done. We will also be refinishing most of our wood furniture in the rooms as well as replacing some of the vanity sinks. The process really never ends.
While we are not a franchise we believe we offer something much better. A home away from home.
Most of my staff has been here for many years and know and treat, our guests, like family. Yes we are getting a few years older, but aren't we all!
Thanks again.. We look forward to your return visit.
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    116
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
195
241
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, MS
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed there one night on our way to cabin destination near West Jefferson. The room was clean, the staff friendly and the setting was beautiful! We enjoyed sitting out by the creek. We will definitely stay again and will reserve a room with screened porch. I really did not want to leave here and hope to return when we can stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSwany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks! We're glad you stopped in and spent a night with us!
We hope you do come back and spend that extra time with us next time!
A room by the creek will be waiting for you..
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently stayed at this Inn with my parents and a friend. The heated pool was great, very clean and well designed. We also enjoyed the hot tub located next to the creek, also very clean. The rooms were great, Refrigerator, Microwave and wi fi. The room was also very clean and well decorated. The creek and gazebo were really nice. We cooked out on the grill next to the creek. This Inn is located in a great location. Joey's pancake house across the highway and Hurley's Restaurant next door. Found both of the locations to have excellent food and service, easy walk to both. The staff at this Inn are really nice, enjoyed talking with them. This Inn is well kept and all of the grounds are very clean. Even enjoyed talking with the other guests that were sitting outside. Nice family atmosphere. Can't say enough good things about Jonathan Creek Inn.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the Screened in Porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WESER1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon!
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We found the staff friendly and the service excellent. We were especially pleased when, on finding out there were hurricane warnings in our home town, we were able to leave a day early without penalty. The sound of the stream outside our screened-in back porch we very relaxing and the gazebo was a great place for our group to get together at the end of the day. We will be looking forward to a return visit next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20rtb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We loved having your group here. We were sorry to see you have to leave early, but ended up really happy that it all worked out for you back home. We look forward to seeing you next year if not before.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review!
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very friendly staff, great location with restaurants within easy walking distance. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, rooms had refrigerators & microwaves, TV worked well. Behind the hotel was very charming with picnic tables & gazebo creek side. Hot tub was in good working order. The only complaint I had was the parking lot was small. I was there with a group of about 18 & the rooms were ready when we got there, we had to check out 1 day early due to weather & they were very cooperative & helpful. I would go back again & recommend it to anyone going to the Maggie Valley area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Sorry you had to leave early for tropical storm Karen! It sounds like you should have gotten through it OK. I wish there was something we could do about our parking lot being a little bigger.
We have pretty much used every inch we could. It always seems to work out though when we get a group in like yours that has trailers. We sure hope you come back next September with the group or sometime before. Late spring can be a phenomenal time here in the mountains.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Jeff Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
295 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Everything we wanted in a place near the Smokies: Nice clean room, friendly welcome - they even advised us about when to eat during off-season - convenient location. An added bonus is the deck and seating areas out back right on the creek. The deck actually overhangs the creek. It was a great place to relax at the end of the day. Price was great too. Decent restaurant right next door; great breakfast place across the street.

Room Tip: Some rooms have screened porches, which might be a plus in bug season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are sure glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you come back and enjoy our beautiful creek and mountains soon!
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindale, Georgia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Some things never change and at this Inn the things that haven't changed are; The Great Friendly Staff, The Super Clean Rooms, The Beautiful Grounds including the Creek behind the Inn and the Great Location. We stay here several times each year and have never had a problem of any type. You can always count on the Staff going out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. From extra pillows and towels to loaning cooking gear to use at the BBQ area. Over the years we have stayed at many of the other motels, but now, we will not even come up without knowing that we have reservations at Jonathan Creek Inn. Stay here one time and you will fall in love with this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale_Shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We love having you stay with us!
Thanks!
Jeff, Alice and the whole staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
0.2 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#8 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#11 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas

Property: Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Address: 4324 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous property with great mountain views and an unbelievable creekside settings. Rooms with lots of decks, some with Hot Tubs, fireplaces. Refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers all rooms. All rooms recently renovated. Villas/cabins that sleep from 2-18. Fully Equipped with everything you need, plus your own hot tub! Outdoor public hot tub overlooking the creek, Indoor pool. Children's playground. Best location for skiing and being centrally located to all of the areas attractions. Try one of our wonderful creekside rooms with your own private screened porch. Gazebo, Picnic area, Trout stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonathan Creek Inn And Villas Hotel Maggie Valley
Jonathan Creek Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing