We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should have walked out”
Review of Castlewood Inn

Castlewood Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castlewood Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“should have walked out”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The office reaked like a smelly ashtray. We should have left right then. One bed had food crumbs all over the bedspread. We went to shake off the crumbs and the bed sheets were not only stained, but were waded up and lumpy as though they had not been changed since the last residents. The room had a musty smell, and mostly, if you do not like your room once you have paid for it, you cannot get a refund. We did not spend the night in this room nor did we even bring our suitcases into this room and yet they kept our money.

Room Tip: Make sure you can get a refund if you decide you dont like your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attila s, Manager at Castlewood Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We have moved the ashtray by the front office door much further away. About two and a half hours after the guests checked in the father stated that they found their relatives and gave the keycards back to me. When they realized they were not getting their money back, they went into a tirade of how filthy the room is. Our policy is that when a customer does not like the room for ANY reason within the first 15 minutes of check in we will give them their money back or otherwise satisfy them, but not 21/2 hours after they checked in. I guess this is what happens when some people don't get their way, they trash you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I just left Castlewood yesterday after 4 wonderful days! We come up every July and this was the 6th year we've stayed at the Castlewood. The staff is great. They are very attentive and are always asking if there's anything they can do for you. The rooms are CLEAN and WELL KEPT. The housekeeping staff is great and they remember you from year to year. Jill even remembered my husband likes extra packets of coffee! Love the rocking chairs in front the the rooms. The location is great and, if you don't want to go anywhere, you can just relax in the rocking chairs and watch the wold go by! In the heart of the Smokies so there are gorgeous mountain views in every direction. Can't wait till next July! We;'ll be back at the Castlewood!! Susan Baker, Monroe NC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Maggie Valley is close to everything, and the Castlewood in was a very nice, CLEAN, convenient location. Would definitely visit again. They had laundry facilities which is a plus when you have limited space for clothing. The staff was very accommodating. The weather was very HOT, but I love the Maggie Valley area and will visit again!

Room Tip: Non Smoking and Smoking rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ijustwannasay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I decided to have a weekend getaway. We stopped and checked out Castlewood Inn and were allowed to see the room before we rented it. I was very impressed. This was the cleanest hotel we've ever stayed at. It was very quiet here and we got the R&R that was very much needed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blueeyes_63073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Castlewood Inn had really nice staff from check in to check out! Thru out my stay the staff checked with me to see if I needed anything and if everything was OK! The grounds, pool and hot tub were well maintained, clean and kepted well! I was in the single queen room! The room was up to date, well stocked, and very clean with daily house keeping! No outsided noice in room with great locks on doors! No bugs in room! Room was big with small bath room! Enough big/soft towels and wash clothes! I felt safe at the Castlewood Inn and parked my car in front of my room! Plus I was in the heart of Maggie Valley and could walk to alot of things! Rates on the rooms were a great value for what I got!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The overall look appeared fine,although the room needs some renovation and new furnishings like the bed spread for starters.It had an old/musty smell!The pool wasn't heated as was informed.The hot tub needed some work/refurbishment.There was no continental breakfast.The wi-fi service was good.The tv service was good.The rated for a queen non-smoking(if this made a difference considering the reaking "old smell")wasn't worth $50/nt when there was plentiful rooms in this town.

Room Tip: Stay with a known reputation hotelier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank riciet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attila s, Manager at Castlewood Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
I don't know what an old smell is, all linens are washed after guest check out, the carpets were shampooed about two weeks ago. The guest also signed a statement saying that we will at least give a refund if they do not approve of the room within 15 minutes of check-in, we were NOT notified that the room was unsatisfatory. The humidity in the Smokies is about 90% maybe that is what they smelled, but that goes away when the room is occupied. We also have dehumidifiers in the rooms on the first floor to keep the 'smell' down. Our website clearly states that we have continental breakfast on Sat., Sun., and Holidays only. The pool is heated to 80 F, natural rivers and lakes in this area is about 70 F. The hot tub is maintained at 100 F and there is an air switch on the wall to turn the high speed pump and air jets on, which also limits the high speed to 10-15 minutes and then you have to get out of the tub to turn it back on again. The hot tub incorporates the latest anti-entrapment devices as demanded by state regulations and it is inspected by the health department. I don't know what they mean by it needs refurbishment.
Manager, Castlewood Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in May 2009 and were thrilled with the accommodations and price. The room was clean, had the essentials and extras and all for an unbelievable reasonable price! The staff is wonderful and definitely will go out of their way to make sure you're comfortable. The location is perfect to stay in The Smokies. We came back in May 2011 and never considered another lodging, this is our PLACE when we visit Maggie Valley. We have stayed in big name places for well over $100/night and they weren't as clean and had no more to offer than Castlewood Inn. This place is the best and we'll keep coming back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emp818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
2.0 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
463 reviews
3.3 mi away
Scottish Inn
Scottish Inn
#22 of 25 in Maggie Valley
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#10 of 25 in Maggie Valley
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
River Point Lodge
River Point Lodge
#17 of 25 in Maggie Valley
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood Inn

Property: Castlewood Inn
Address: 3695 Soco Rd, Hwy 19, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-6729
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castlewood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family operated. We have the only kiddie slide in M.V. at our seasonal heated pool. Close to attractions Cataloochee Ski lodge, restaurants, next to Fantasy Golf. We are Biker friendly. Mini-fridge, Microwave, Coffee pot and hair drier in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Castlewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlewood Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing