We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Elope!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bear Cottage in the Woods of Maggie Valley
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Elope!!”
Reviewed January 9, 2009

From the very beginning when I spoke with Sandee about getting married at Timberwolf Creek, I knew I chose the right place. The town was quiet, small and very friendly. We were taken care of from the moment we got to the Black Bear Cottage. Sandee and Larry did a great job of making sure our wedding went just as we planned and I had no worries the entire day. The work they have done on the grounds is breathtaking and the outside "chapel" was perfect. My pictures are fabulous and a special thank you to Larry who I know put a lot of photoshopping work into them due to wayward straps I never noticed.
The cabin was just the right size with a beautiful fireplace and cozy chairs. The kitchen was just the right size for light eating and cooking. Both bathrooms were well lit and stocked. Nice size tubs, if you needed to take a relaxing bath. It was still too cold to sit on the back deck by the stream but the sound of the stream inside the cabin was very relaxing. Both rooms have full size beds that were comfortable and both rooms open to the outside.
We did not get to go out into the town as much, but we did enjoy the Maggie Valley Magic Shop.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Bamagirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2007

Perfection!! This is honestly how we describe our wedding at Timberwolf Creek. We were looking for a place where our wedding would be at leisure and in a beautiful setting. After entertaining several options in the area, we were convinced that Timberwolf Creek was going to be the answer. We are so glad we made this choice! Not only is your property beautiful, it was very apparent that you were completely committed to making our wedding day special. We were welcomed by a nice cozy cottage which was far beyond our expectations. It had everything we needed and nothing we didn't; it was ideal. Sandee greeted us, took us to the site of our wedding, and helped us by making suggestions on where would be the most beautiful. (Mother Nature sure helped by painting the background with the glorious colors of Autumn) It was very difficult to make this choice, because the grounds are so beautiful from every angle!

The day of our wedding was extremely stress free, which is what every marrying couple wants, and exactly what we were looking for. Prior to our wedding day, Sandee had recommended hair salons to the bride. It worked out perfectly! The work was fabulous, the price was reasonable, and the location was very convenient. About and hour before the ceremony, the cake, champagne and flowers were brought in to the cottage, and Larry began working his magic with his camera. Then Sandee, Larry and their fabulous assistant, Sara were off to the ceremony site to make sure everything was set and ready for the ceremony.

Sandee was a beautiful officiant. We had provided our personal ceremony to her, and she presented it beautifully! She even welcomed the fact that our ring bearer was played by our beloved Corgi, Mookie! (In Tuxedo!) After our ceremony we were treated to a great session of photographs with Larry. He was even open to our personal suggestions! (Even if it meant getting in the car and driving to a different location!) The cake was fabulous, the champagne was bubbly, and the company was joyous! Our dinner that evening was FABULOUS! We couldn't have asked for a better day and will always be a

Our photos were fabulous, and arranged beautifully! Everyone that we've showed them to are very impressed!

We highly recommend Timberwolf Creek to any and all couples who are looking for a perfect, simple, and personalized wedding. You'll be amazed!

  • Liked — It had a very homey feel - everything we needed was supplied!
  • Disliked — Nightly rate is a little high, but our fabulous wedding made up for that.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank amyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

We stayed here as part of a larger trip which started with a week in Manhattan and involved driving most of the east coast and south. During the course of the stay we stayed at the 60 Thompson in NY and the Ritz-Carlton New Orleans, and we have found that we enjoyed our time at this b&b more than either of those. It may have been that we had just spent a crazy week in the city, but maggie valley seemed literally like a secluded paradise. The stream right under our balcony drowned out any outside noise and completed the sense of escape. The most surprising aspect of the stay was the breakfast - it was incredible. After spending a week eating at the nicest restaurants of Manhattan for a b&b breakfast to seem amazing is very impressive. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoamingGnomeTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2007

What an incredible way to spend an anniversary.Our first time at a B&B and not our last at Black Bear Cottage. We were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome, and treated this way the entire stay. Our streamsong room was true to its name. Just open the french doors in our room and the stream will sing you to sleep. The breakfast each morning was out of this world. Thank you again for an anniversay we'll always remember!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gocats07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

What a great place with the natural "music" of a fast running stream right under you private deck. Breakfast was delivered out there each morning at you appointed time by a very cool innkeeper. A very cozy living room with fireplace made for most enjoyable evenings. The four poster bed made of branches from trees on the property made for a fantastic night's sleep. If you are looking for a rustic cabin with all the comforts of home and then some, this is the place for you. Thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank gogojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 11, 2006

My husband, Rich, and I stayed at Black Bear Cottage for 2 nights, along with our longtime friends, Bruce and Shirley. From the welcome note on the door to our final departure, all was well. The cottage is exceptionally equipped with many lovely amenities and of course, bears on everything.
Coming from Tucson, AZ with an 8 year drought, to an absolutley lush landscape and an actual stream on the property, I was in heaven. One day, I went outside and it was raining so I just stood there, arms outstretched, and sang, "Singing In The Rain".
Sandee and Larry are the right people for propietors of this vacation spot. Hug-loving Sandee has loads of personality and thinks of everything to make one comfortable and handsome Larry is quite an accomplished photographer. His incredible photos adorn the cottage walls.
Breakfast was certainly delicious and the conversation hearty and comical!
If you are looking for a place in the mountains where peace, quiet and accommodating hosts anticipate your every need, give Black Bear Cottage a try.
Sherry and Rich Hagenah

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 9, 2004

This is the perfect place for a honeymoon. We loved the creek with all its waterfalls, and the tall trees, and being hidden in the woods. We loved going horseback riding and hiking and coming back to our secret hide-away by the creek. We loved having apple cider in front of the fireplace. And we loved that gorgeous wonderful four-poster in the woodland room! We'll back back for our anniversaries. Lots of them. :)

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
0.7 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Misty Mountain Ranch
Misty Mountain Ranch
#2 of 8 in Maggie Valley
90 reviews
3.9 mi away
Laurel Park Inn
Laurel Park Inn
#6 of 8 in Maggie Valley
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Misty Creek Log Cabins
Misty Creek Log Cabins
#2 of 21 in Maggie Valley
28 reviews
5.9 mi away
Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#1 of 8 in Maggie Valley
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Cottage in the Woods of Maggie Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Cottage in the Woods of Maggie Valley

Property: Black Bear Cottage in the Woods of Maggie Valley
Address: 448 Johnson Branch, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing