We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the shrimp and grits!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moonshine Grill

Moonshine Grill
Ranked #13 of 39 Restaurants in Maggie Valley
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Loved the shrimp and grits!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stopped in for dinner after reading a review about their Shrimp and Grits...one of my favorite southern dishes. They did a wonderful job with this dish...loved it! The dish was large enough that my husband and I shared it along with an appetizer and left full. The fried onion appetizer was very good also. The service was good and the restaurant was one of the nicer decorated that we visited in Maggie Valley. We would visit again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank couplenindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    67
    20
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here for dinner. I had the ribeye and he had trout. Food was excellent. Trout could have been bigger. It was a very thin fillet and not enough meat but it was tasty. Kind of pricey too. Staff was friendly and we were well taken care of.

Helpful?
Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had dinner here while vacationing for a week in Maggie Valley from NY. We were excited to dine here because the house we rented had menus and the menu from the Moonshine Grill included surf and turf with filet mignon and lobster tail. Apparently the menu changed and the only steak with the lobster tail offered was sirloin. That being said, for a sirloin the steak was very good. The service was very good as was the food. Just surprised that the best cut of "turf" offered with a lobster tail was a sirloin steak. Would try here again - would try some of their moonshine specials.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UncleJackNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyFallsLodge1, Owner at Moonshine Grill, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review. We offer three Surf and Turf options. Sirloin and Shrimp Skewer, Sirloin and Lobster Tail and our Filet Mignon and Lobster Tail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

It is very hard to please a 12 year old, but our son absolutely loved his meal. This restaurant was recommended by the hotel and it did not disappoint.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harlyzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Good food, good service, but the staff should do a better job suggesting the moonshine drinks, or they should have a drink menu. We thought they were great once we found out what they were. They have a kids menu too, so it was a nice place for a family dinner on our vacation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonshine Grill also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Moonshine Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing