We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wheels Through Time Transportation Museum

Wheels Through Time Transportation Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This museum is truly excellent. The collection of motorbikes is extensive. There are some great cars there too. The staff are great. Dale, the founder and curator started a few of the bikes and it was great to see and hear an 80 year old motorbike roar back to life. The passion of the staff and the visitors is great to experience. The prices are very reasonable. The videos are good. I thoroughly recommend this museum and it was one of the highlights of my trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Con_Thai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    97
    14
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narvon, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Biker Fans wonderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We planned our Smokey Mt Bike trip with a planned stop to Wheels Through time Museum. We spent a couple of hours exploring & taking many pictures.We met Matt and he started one the bikes while we were touring and was informative about the histroy of the bike. Matt & Dale are on site and take the time to talk to you. If you are lucky enough when they are outside. They will take you for a ride in one of the bikes with a side car.Everyone one of the staff was friendly. It's a must see when traveling in the area. The vintage Motorcyles and cars are amazing to see and most are in running condition. I had a hard time getting my Husband to leave.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
“No just for motorcycle fans....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

When you cross the bridge into parking lot of the museum, you immediately know that Dale and his family love their museum/hobby. It's a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere. The museum is amazing..!!! All of these old motorcycles - - really old -- Harleys and Indians and much much more -- - all in original condition and most of them still run..!! But what we found as enjoyable as seeing all these timeless treasures was the people. Dale and Matt are hands on. They were right there, talking with their guests while leading them through the museum, sharing their joy and knowledge of each piece. They were friendly, smiling, and in the moment. There was no hurry, no rushing to the next person. Just time spent with people who they really appreciate stopping in to see there museum. THIS IS NOT JUST FOR MOTORCYCLE FANS..!!! Everyone who stops by Wheels through Time will enjoy this amazing place as much as my husband and myself did. We will go back time and time again. So we suggest.....DON'T MISS IT..!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must See when near Maggie Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you are traveling near Maggie Valley by bike or car you have to stop by and visit the Wheels Through Time Museum. You will get to see over 350 vintage motorcycles and numerous automobiles displayed in a manner they so deserve. The museum is only 5 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway and worth the side trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank taheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mills River, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always something new to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We've been here numerous times and every time there is new stuff added. Dale and his son Mikey is always will to chat and start up the antiques and ride them around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheels Through Time Transportation Museum also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Wheels Through Time Transportation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing