We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Light on ambiance, heavy on good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Diner - CLOSED

Holiday Diner
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Light on ambiance, heavy on good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I spent a long weekend in Maggie Valley...and relied on TripAdvisor to help find the best places to eat. Based on the appearance of the Holiday Diner, we would have NEVER ventured in. But thanks to this site, we followed the recommendations and we were not disappointed! Breakfast or lunch at breakfast or lunch suited us great! Burgers we fresh and cooked to perfection. The onion rings were hand cut and battered and among the best I've ever had. My wife ordered off the breakfast menu and was very pleased. The interior and exterior are light on ambiance...but the food was a homerun. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank we4steeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    33
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sellersburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have to eat here at least once when in the area. It does take awhile to get your food but that is because everything is cooked to order. The chef uses quality ingredients and the food tastes great! You can also get lunch during breakfast, his burgers and onion rings are amazing! I will return!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good food. good price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

opens around when it says it will, or not. my food was great. loved the pancakes. nice people. cool shirts, but i couldn't buy one. would have been a good shirt to wear. yellow grits were different for a georgian, ours are white. lol.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Homemade onion rings-perfect! Pigskin cheeseburger, chicken parm sandwiches, homemade potato chips and a meat omelet...all incredible. The waitress was friendly and over worked and she still had a smile. Small town feeling.Very pleased.

Helpful?
Thank cb1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food , great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were heading out of town looking for breakfast ahead of an expected snow storm . We stopped at the diner because they were the only place we could find open. The food was very good and reasonably priced.The owner was by himself but did a great job handling the serving and cooking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank billking1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holiday Diner also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing