We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good home cooking!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Diner - CLOSED

Holiday Diner
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good home cooking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Had a great home cooked country style breakfast to get us prepared for a visit to Wheels Throught Time down the road! Service and food were both great!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RetiredChief1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    33
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We Eat Here Often But Had Never Had The BBQ. It Is Done Only On OccasioN As A Special. I thinkThe Bbq Here Puts Butts On The Creek To Shame. I Have Never Eaten A Bad Meal Here. It Is Always Amazing. Best Hot Dogs In WNC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank athomeinthemtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Holiday Diner in Maggie Valley is a small and often overlooked restaurant when people are traveling through. Don't overlook this place as the food and service are excellent. I have eaten there many times and have never been disappointed. Yes, it's a small restaurant, but the food is better than what you can get in some of the bigger restaurants in the area.

Don't pass it by. You'll be glad you stopped there. The cooks, Steve and Marcus know what they're doing and many people say their omelets are the best. I wouldn't know because I don't eat them. Their home fries with onions are delicious. Bonnie, the waitress is very friendly and knowledgeable and the entire staff will work hard to give you what you ordered in good portions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MT30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Burgers!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had found this restaurant on Trip Advisor before our weekend trip to Maggie Valley and had made a mental note to check it out. We arrived in Maggie Valley around 2:30 on a Friday afternoon - starving - so I had my eyes open looking for a place to eat as we entered town. I immediately noticed the Holiday Diner and told hubby to pull in. Unfortunately, they are only open until 2:00 (at least at this time of the year that was their closing time each day). They are also closed on Monday and Wednesdays I believe the sign said. On Saturday however we ventured back to Holiday Diner for lunch and we are so glad we did. At the recommendation of several Trip Advisor post, we opted for burgers and were not disappointed. I had the regular burger and fries and it was literally the best burger I have ever had. They hand pat their own patties and they are HUGE! My husband got the specialty burger "The Piedmont" which had their homemade pimento cheese on it and he said it was wonderful as well. You could tell everyone else in the restaurant were locals as everyone seemed to know each other and the staff. Burgers were so good, we stopped on the way out of town the very next day for one last burger! They serve breakfast all the time as well which is what a lot of the other people were eating when we were there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TLuntsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday Diner in Maggie Valley is Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have eaten at the Holiday Diner a number of times. It has the best breakfast in Haywood County. Steve, the owner and chef, makes a homemade corn beef hash that is really, really tasty. And the pancakes are great, with REAL maple syrup to make them even better. There is also a lot of variety in its breakfast menu. For lunch, I really like their sandwiches. My personal favorite is the Reuben, as the meat is not of the packaged variety. The main server, Bonnie, is very efficient and nice. They are not open for evening meals, but if you're looking for a fantastic breakfast or lunch, the Holiday Diner is quite a place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holiday Diner also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing