We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW-So clean!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Lumberton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Lumberton
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Hurlock, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW-So clean!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

We were traveling from Florida back to Maryland and looked this hotel up on our navigation system. We did not want to spend a lot of money but wanted some place clean. We got exactly what we wanted and more! We checked in late and our first look at the hotel inside was the hallway leading to our room. It was CLEAN and smelled CLEAN! Our room was CLEAN and well stocked and more that just average comfortable. It was extremely comfortable! We had a sliding glass door that led out to the pool and it was also CLEAN and VERY NEAT! The next morning when I went to check out I got a look at the lobby and was surprised had how clean and neat it was. The staff that we encountered were all very nice and very helpful. We will definatly stop there again on our way back and forth to Flordia. I have already recommened this hotel to a friend who is going to Florida next week. She has already called and reserved her room!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msgraywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    68
    56
    32
    39
See reviews for
93
57
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

The Howard Johnson was one of the worst places I have ever stayed. Stay away from Lumberton, NC. in general. This is a poverty stricken area and is not safe. I wouldn't be surprised if there was a secret camera filming my family in our room. It was so creepy. We only stayed one night just to break up the long drive back to NJ, thank goodness. I would expect a dump if I had paid next to nothing, but that was not the case here. $76.00 a night is way to much for a dump like this, besides the fact that you cannot put a price on your safety. Breakfast was disgusting, too. Pool wasn't open yet. Photos are not true to life!!! Do not be fooled!!! YUK

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lodee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lumberton hotels

Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
231 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

My first time at this hotel. Desk clerk was freindly and the room was clean. Did need some minor maintenance but nothing really worth complaining about. Ice machine worked, room including the bathroom was clean. The room even had a big king size bed. Also had a free breakfast consisting of cereals, toast, pastries, muffins and a waffle iron. Not bad for under 50 dollars. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highmiles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

I have stayed at Howard Johnson 2 times a year for the past 6 years, To my family and I there is no other place to get the service we get at the Howard Johnson, we Have tried a couple more Motels in the area and they just don't compare. On Saturday evening when I checked in like always the desk clerk was very friendly and very talkative, which to me shows good customer service, she also made sure we knew exactly where our room was and then we started talking about restaurants in the area, she recommended the Village Station and the food was great. The room was very clean and smelled nice also, no harsh chemical smells, the Lobby also smelled fresh and was very clean. I know there are newer motels in the area but Howard Johnson is a very nice, clean, and comfortable place and the outside is neat and clean, it just makes you want to stay in a place like this, I would like to thank the desk clerk, and housekeepers and all who has made this motel our number 1.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmasterson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

I had a great experience at this Howard Johnson Express Inn. The hotel was very clean and the maintenance on this place seemed to have been kept up. I would recommend this hotel to families and couples who want to get a good night sleep in a very well maintained facility. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Thank you!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunasam333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

We had room 101. It was an interior room and we still could hear the traffic from I 95. It is the closest hotel to the interstate. The room was very clean...but had a really funky smell. Mattresses were very comfortable. The woman that checked us in was very friendly. The breakfast was a joke....coffee empty....2 bagels and 2 apples left....at 8am! It is next to a hotel that is closed...and the parking area was very dark on that side of the hotel. Since I had a packed car I made a point to park in front where there were lights. Not sure if I'd stay here again since there are so many other choices in that town.

  • Liked — The firm mattress.
  • Disliked — The poorly stocked breakfast and hearing the traffic from I95
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cv529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2008

This is by far the cleanest, most odor free place I've stayed at!! They are responsible, and understand that you need to provide service for customers to return.

  • Liked — They keep the rooms clean.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carolinaraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lumberton hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lumberton
Comfort Inn Lumberton
#5 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lumberton
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
#4 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lumberton
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Lumberton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lumberton

Property: Red Roof Inn Lumberton
Address: 3530 Capuano Rd, I-95 Exit 20, Lumberton, NC 28358-3461 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Lumberton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lumberton 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet friendly Red Roof Inn Lumberton is located centrally between New York and Florida on Interstate 95 which makes this hotel an ideal lodging destination! Fun filled activities are all just around the corner at the Carolina Civic Center, Exploration Station Children's Museum, Lumber River state Park, Briggs Park Mall, and the Cliffwood Golf Club. Education Centers like Robeson Community College and University of North Carolina at Pembroke are also just a short drive away. The Southeastern Regional Medical Center is less than a mile away. With over 20 restaurants nearby like the Village Station Steakhouse, San Jose Mexican Restaurant, Fuller's Old Fashion BBQ, a 24 hour Waffle House, and multiple franchise fast food options, there will always be good eats! The rooms at this non-smoking inn feature interior corridors, free WiFi, flat screen TV, cable television with HBO, microwave & refrigerator, hairdryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee, in-room safe $1.00, and work desk. Red Roof inn Lumberton also offers free continental breakfast and a seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary coffeehouse- style coffee & tea are offered in the lobby and one well behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lumberton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumberton Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lumberton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing