We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Diamond in the rough” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Lumberton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Lumberton
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Lumberton
ElPaso
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The outside looks nice but the hallways look scary. Their was a woman yelling at us from a balcony as we parked. In the hallway their was a man with his rear end hanging out getting ice and the same woman came down from the balcony to ask us what we do for a living. (?) The hall smelled strongly of marijuana and the door to my room was open when I got there. The room itself was surprisingly clean and nice with an updated tv and a very comfortable bed. The curved shower curtain rod wasn't properly installed so it doesn't provide any extra room. It's too far into the shower. (Have one at my house, love it) Breakfast was very basic (waffles and cereal). The front desk guy was cynical but friendly enough. With some basic renovations and security this place could be pretty nice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mandeys77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    65
    53
    28
    38
See reviews for
88
52
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, Maryland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our way back from Florida. We stayed here because we were too tired to drive any more that night and we had a coupon from a travel guide. The room was ok nothing fancy. The bed was just so so not very comfortable but not too uncomfortable either. The location is right off the highway so it is very noisy but once you can get to sleep then it is fine. The hotel is ok just for one night but I wouldn't want to spend an extending period of time there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chickiebabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Like many other review writers, we just needed a place to stay the night. We booked last minute and were able to get a room on the first floor. Long story short, we got there late and went to be bed around 1 only to jump out of bed around 4:30 am due to multiple gun shots and a woman screaming outside of where we were staying. 911 was called and informed us the gun shots came from the motel. The lady at the desk said it was a few kids playing with guns across the street (which I believe she was just saying to keep her customers). The room was as good as it gets for a overnight stay at a motel but if you're looking to be safe, I wouldn't recommend this motel. Overall, scary experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shortrib7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lumberton hotels

Lumberton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Rooms were clean and well furnished. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked room at the last minute from the road. They made sure we had a crib ready for our 9 month old when we checked in late.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Wallace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I read other reviews some were good others not so good, but i decided to stay Feb. 13, 2014 over night. I had a peaceful sleep, no noise and it was clean. No bad smell. The hotel is in a nice location right off of hwy 95. I didn't have far to go. The young lady at the front desk, she was very very friendly and she made me feel welcome. I drove 6 hours and in the morning I was getting up to do the other six hours and again my sleep was good. I was a little afraid at first because I was there alone. The area was pretty well lit. I'm glad I made reservations because there was others who was trying to get a room and they was all booked. I didn't get breakfast the next morning so I really can't comment on that.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fbailey93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lumberton hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lumberton
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#17 of 22 in Lumberton
2.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lumberton
Comfort Inn Lumberton
#4 of 22 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lumberton
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
#3 of 22 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
2.6 mi away
Atkinson Inn & Suites
Atkinson Inn & Suites
#8 of 22 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Lumberton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lumberton

Property: Red Roof Inn Lumberton
Address: 3530 Capuano Rd, I-95 Exit 20, Lumberton, NC 28358-3461 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Lumberton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Lumberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lumberton 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet friendly Red Roof Inn Lumberton is located centrally between New York and Florida on Interstate 95 which makes this hotel an ideal lodging destination! Fun filled activities are all just around the corner at the Carolina Civic Center, Exploration Station Children's Museum, Lumber River state Park, Briggs Park Mall, and the Cliffwood Golf Club. Education Centers like Robeson Community College and University of North Carolina at Pembroke are also just a short drive away. The Southeastern Regional Medical Center is less than a mile away. With over 20 restaurants nearby like the Village Station Steakhouse, San Jose Mexican Restaurant, Fuller's Old Fashion BBQ, a 24 hour Waffle House, and multiple franchise fast food options, there will always be good eats! The rooms at this non-smoking inn feature interior corridors, free WiFi, flat screen TV, cable television with HBO, microwave & refrigerator, hairdryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee, in-room safe $1.00, and work desk. Red Roof inn Lumberton also offers free continental breakfast and a seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary coffeehouse- style coffee & tea are offered in the lobby and one well behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lumberton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumberton Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lumberton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing