We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Lumberton
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Taylorsville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Worst Hotel Experience EVER!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Probably the most rude and unprofessional staff that I have ever encountered. A mix up or miss communication at the front desk resulted in someone coming into our room after 11pm, with me and my family asleep in the room. Then a subsequent phone call from the front desk telling me that I had not checked in. Then an additional call from the front desk at 3am telling me that if I do not vacate the room, they will call the police. I will never darken the doors of a Howard Johnson Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    72
    59
    36
    42
See reviews for
98
61
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newark, DE
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked a regular room instead of a handicap room by mistake. Upon entering the room and discovering this I called the front desk. Lenora immediately upgraded us to a handicap room across the hall. It was very nice with a table and chairs, desk, love seat, mic and fridge. The bathroom was equipped with grab bars. The breakfast was ok but did not have yogurt, fruit or decaf coffee. The man at the desk did give me a pack to make decaf for my husband using the room coffee maker.. When I plugged in our night light it blew out and blew the circuit breaker. I called the front desk and it was fixed very quickly. The other think to point out is that there is a fairly long walk from the car to the room. (a portion of the walk is outside)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJERBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've made online reservations for this motel twice, and both times the desk clerk had a discrepancy with the price. They tried once to blame it on the corporate rate v. the local rate. The last stay, I had a coupon for $10 off the total bill. It plainly stated to present the coupon at check in, but the desk clerk balked--again, because the reservation was made online. The coupon clearly said present at CHECK IN. I like this motel because it is conveniently located, safe, and clean. But the desk clerks have been uncooperative.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank AL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The rooms and the lobby smelled. I knew from the second I walked into the lobby that there was no way I was going to eat breakfast there. The rooms also smelled bad and there was a weird stain on the bed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank NIKKI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lumberton hotels

SAINT JOHNS
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hotel was older but our room looked like it had been remodeled. Nice furniture and very clean. The queen sized beds were a blessing and very comfortable (stayed at 2 other hotels during our trip and just had double sized beds). Located near many restuarants and right off highway. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank CHRISTINE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lumberton hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lumberton
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 23 in Lumberton
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lumberton
Comfort Inn Lumberton
#5 of 23 in Lumberton
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lumberton
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 23 in Lumberton
166 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lumberton
Hampton Inn Lumberton
#1 of 23 in Lumberton
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Lumberton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lumberton

Property: Red Roof Inn Lumberton
Address: 3530 Capuano Rd, I-95 Exit 20, Lumberton, NC 28358-3461 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Lumberton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lumberton 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet friendly Red Roof Inn Lumberton is located centrally between New York and Florida on Interstate 95 which makes this hotel an ideal lodging destination! Fun filled activities are all just around the corner at the Carolina Civic Center, Exploration Station Children's Museum, Lumber River state Park, Briggs Park Mall, and the Cliffwood Golf Club. Education Centers like Robeson Community College and University of North Carolina at Pembroke are also just a short drive away. The Southeastern Regional Medical Center is less than a mile away. With over 20 restaurants nearby like the Village Station Steakhouse, San Jose Mexican Restaurant, Fuller's Old Fashion BBQ, a 24 hour Waffle House, and multiple franchise fast food options, there will always be good eats! The rooms at this non-smoking inn feature interior corridors, free WiFi, flat screen TV, cable television with HBO, microwave & refrigerator, hairdryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee, in-room safe $1.00, and work desk. Red Roof inn Lumberton also offers free continental breakfast and a seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary coffeehouse- style coffee & tea are offered in the lobby and one well behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lumberton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumberton Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lumberton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing