We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEVER AGAIN” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Lumberton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Lumberton
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NEVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

I was traveling back from Florida and needed a hotel. The area is bad with signs in parking lot not responsible for your belongings which should have been the first clue to move on. The room itself was horrible. No hot water. Shower backed up and toilet problems. The outside glass door did not lock all the way and relied on a bar across the door.
The traffic from I95 was ear deafining and I did not feel safe. The room was musty and old. I turned on the television to find porn....yes you heard me. I got little to no sleep and couldn't wait to leave. Trust me when I say price does matter. I would not stay here again if it were free. cls from md

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carols518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    68
    56
    32
    39
See reviews for
93
57
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed overnight here, room very nicely updated, and CLEAN! Common area (hallway) leaves a bit to be desired, but no big deal, not sleeping in the hallway! Woman at front desk was lovely! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpreece8778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

SIwas here for christmas. Susan (deskclerk) was attentive to all my needs and made sure I was well taken care of. She made my experience here enjoyable. The owner took time to check on me to make I had what I needed. This is the third time I have stayed here. I will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Ok...for $62.00 for the night, it was acceptable....but that's it. I would have liked it to be cleaner. The bed/sheets were clean. The bathroom on the other hand...really gross. The floor was greasy and smelled like dirty dish water. The wall next to the toilet was gross, splattered with....hhhmmm, not sure....but the color gave me an idea! The bathroom door frame....gross. I don't understand how the person cleaning that room after guests cannot see that nastiness and wipe it down. If you need super clean, this is not your place. I didn't even try the free breakfast as it did not look good and inviting...we just went go McDonalds. The lobby was stinky too. The girl who checked us in at night was very nice, however. It baffles me how it is such a difficult task to find a clean, no-frills hotel for a decent price!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lumberton hotels

Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stopped at this hotel on the way home from our trip to Myrtle Beach and it was late. The building door was locked but the lady at the counter let us in. She was extremely helpful and even let us look at the room prior to agreeing to staying there as I was not sure about the area in general. Room was very clean, air conditioning was on and room was very cool. The halls were very hot and I think the owner does not put the air conditioning on in the hallways which is ridiculous because it is so hot out. I did not try the breakfast because we had to leave. I would stay there again if i needed to in a pinch. Great price for the money and conventiently located off 95.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were driving to fl from Virginia and needed a decent place to crash for one night. When we got there the lobby doors were closed and we had to check in from outside like a mcdonalds drive thru. Thankfully when the front desk woman saw me thru the glass she opened the lobby door because I guess I looked to be no harm. Anyway, the lobby smelled urine and when we went to park in front of the hotel, you can't even get in! You have to go through the side of the hotel to walk thru a hot hallway(because the ac wasn't turned on for the hallway) and when you get to the room you get the feeling that they might have cleaned the sheets but not the mattress if you know what I mean. In the room there is a glass sliding door that is(tada!)can be used when you are leaving because in front is the parking lot. Don't be fooled like us from the cheap price and the customer reviews. I ended up sleeping on a chair in the room and felt unsafe.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paradisekiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Booked this hotel through Wyndham Rewards program; would have canceled but we got there too late to not be charged. We typically stop in Lumberton on our trip from FL to PA and back to FL. Would never stay at this Howard Johnson again, would never recommend to anyone with even the lowest of standards. There was a terrible odor in the lobby, which should have been my first clue. When we got inside, the halls were hot, muggy and very smelly - no a/c in the hallways and there is minimal lighting. The steps to the 2nd floor smelled of stale cigarettes, there were dead bugs (roaches) and the stairwells were filthy. Got to the room to find the a/c hadn't been turned on, it took several hours to get the temperature to a comfortable level. The bedspreads had visible stains and we removed them immediately. The furnishings were on the older side, but were otherwise fine. The bathroom had a sticky floor and there was a spider in the tub. The TV worked, the clock radio ran hours fast even after setting it to the correct time. Free 'breakfast' is included - mini donuts, mini muffins, cereal, juice, coffee and make-your-own waffles. However, only 2 small tables available, so we took our muffins and donuts to go. If I knew I would be able to upload pictures, I would have taken them.

Room Tip: Don't take a room at this hotel - go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank believeangls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lumberton hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lumberton
Comfort Inn Lumberton
#5 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lumberton
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
#4 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lumberton
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lumberton
Hampton Inn Lumberton
#2 of 23 in Lumberton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Lumberton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lumberton

Property: Red Roof Inn Lumberton
Address: 3530 Capuano Rd, I-95 Exit 20, Lumberton, NC 28358-3461 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Lumberton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lumberton 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet friendly Red Roof Inn Lumberton is located centrally between New York and Florida on Interstate 95 which makes this hotel an ideal lodging destination! Fun filled activities are all just around the corner at the Carolina Civic Center, Exploration Station Children's Museum, Lumber River state Park, Briggs Park Mall, and the Cliffwood Golf Club. Education Centers like Robeson Community College and University of North Carolina at Pembroke are also just a short drive away. The Southeastern Regional Medical Center is less than a mile away. With over 20 restaurants nearby like the Village Station Steakhouse, San Jose Mexican Restaurant, Fuller's Old Fashion BBQ, a 24 hour Waffle House, and multiple franchise fast food options, there will always be good eats! The rooms at this non-smoking inn feature interior corridors, free WiFi, flat screen TV, cable television with HBO, microwave & refrigerator, hairdryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee, in-room safe $1.00, and work desk. Red Roof inn Lumberton also offers free continental breakfast and a seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary coffeehouse- style coffee & tea are offered in the lobby and one well behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lumberton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumberton Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lumberton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing