We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful surprise just off I-95” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candy Sue's Downtown

Candy Sue's Downtown
Ranked #7 of 99 Restaurants in Lumberton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Need to add this. The original Candy Sue's is on Pine Street in Lumberton, and just moved to a 2nd, larger, location downtown. Good menu.
Waterford, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise just off I-95”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

After stopping for gas and only finding large chain options for dinner right off the highway, turned on restaurant locator on the nav and headed towards Lumberton and found Candy Sue's. Staff and management greeted us enthusiastically and was more than happy to explain the menu, house specialties and even give us a tour of the old downtown building and it's history. Prices are very reasonable, our kids of 8 and 10 were welcomed and enjoyed the stop as well. Meatloaf, Boston Butt and fried cheesecake were all great, good beer selection, early-bird dinner hours. We will definitely be on the lookout for this stop as we pass through NC in the future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    30
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Over The Top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This restaurant is amazing!!! The food, the atmosphere and the service is something you do not want to miss. Roasted oysters on Thursday, Friday or Saturday night is a big hit. Karaoke and live entertainment is all about good food, good fellowship, just alot of fun. On facebook, visit candy sue's and you will see what I'm talking about.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They've got it all, what a variety...entrees and appetizers you won't find anywhere else.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Susan and Kevin have definitely brought their A game to the new Candy-Sue's in the beautifully restored old building in downtown Lumberton (previously Blackwater .
Candy-Sue's has progressed to be the best restaurant Lumberton has seen since John's, which was the best for decades!
Great Food! Great Atmosphere! Great Service!
Reward yourself to a fun, delicious, dining experience at a very reasonable price .....That's right.....Right here in Lumberton!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jfranklin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Southern Cooking the Right Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The food here is delicious with many options of traditional and some non-traditional dishes like tomato grit casserole. I was curious with that one but now that I have tried it, I am hooked. The fried chicken is some of the best I have ever had...including my own. And if you have room, don't miss the opportunity to try their fried cheesecake. It was covered in a blueberry sauce and rivals any dessert I have tried before.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south`
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stopped for lunch with a party of 10.
Great hospitality and great food.
Better Fried Chicken than "Our Lady & Sons"
What a find!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank maamtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candy Sue's Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Candy Sue's Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing