We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service; less than stellar meal.”

The Village Station 1893 Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 100 Restaurants in Lumberton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great service; less than stellar meal.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were visiting the town recently and decided to have dinner here based on the TripAdvisor reviews. It was a Friday evening, and they apparently serve both a seafood buffet and their regular menu on Fridays. The seafood buffet appeared to be served on one side of the restaurant, with the regular menu served on the other. We elected the regular menu, not really wanting fried seafood this particular day. We were seated right away, and our waitress was absolutely wonderful throughout our meal. We both elected to start with a small tossed dinner salad, which we made at their salad buffet. Everything on the buffet seemed fresh. We both ordered from the chef's section of the menu (specialty dishes prepared by the Chef) based on some of the reviews read. My husband had the stuffed flounder selection. He said the fish was okay after he scraped off as much of the excessive and very sweet sauce as he could. The sauce was overwhelming and did not enhance the dish at all; it also ran into vegetables and made them less than tasty. I ordered the angel hair pasta with chicken cutlets and lemon sauce. Again, the sauce was too sweet and too much. The pasta was overcooked, and the chicken cutlets were lightly breaded but not cooked long enough. The chicken, very thin, was cooked through, but not long enough for the breading to be well cooked, and was not seasoned well. It was very "blah". This is not a place we would visit again, and I've read the rave reviews for the Chef. Maybe we just hit it on an "off" day. I did walk by the kitchen and prep area on a visit to the ladies' restroom, and the steaks they were cooking smelled great. This was at the end of our meal. Had I done that first, I would probably have ordered steak instead, but am not sure they would have tasted as good as they smelled based on the meal we did have. This is not a restaurant we would visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sittingonready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    47
    27
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croghan, NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Somewhat Disappointed”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stopped here on our way north looking forward to a great meal based upon Tripadvisor reviews. We had a blooming onion as an appetizer. I ordered the beef tips, my husband ordered the prime rib, and my mom ordered the lasagna. The salad bar offered a nice selection of fresh crisp salad veggies with an assortment of toppings and dressings. My mom was very pleased with the lasagna. The beef tips were served as ordered and were OK - some were a bit tough. My husband was very dissatisfied with the prime rib stating that although it was served medium as ordered, it was tough and tasteless. Service was excellent...our waitress was pleasant and attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyCroghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“" Chef Recognition!"”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our first time dining at the Village Station 1893 Restaurant was a memorable one.
My interest was focused on the food and menu created by the in house Chef.
We were honored and given the opportunity to be personally greeted by the Chef because of
a managers keen observation and recognition of his customers.
It is the tic... tock...tic...tock...rhythm of a time table orchestrated by a chef's delegation that makes a successful restaurant. " Chef George (Jorge) Bonilla" the food was wonderful and we applaud your performance! We recognize the exceptional presentation of your creation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Lumberton is a halfway point between New York and Florida, so this was a quick stop. What a pleasant surprise to find this restaurant. The decor is oldish, but would recommend the Italian entrees. The service was very good, the food was good, and the place was busy even as we left at 8:30 PM. It was a find for three road weary travelers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Loop
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food in Lumberton”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We really enjoyed the Village Station. The atmosphere was rustic and cozy, the food was excellent, and the wait staff was exceptional. The manager even made the rounds to make sure you were happy. We will be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreatLoopLoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Station 1893 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Village Station 1893 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing