We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay only if you must, and don't expect much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atkinson Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Westmont, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Stay only if you must, and don't expect much”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Reserved a room well in advance but check in still took 10 minutes. Room cleanliness OK but furniture spartan. Coffee maker promised but none in the room. "Free continental breakfast" promised. Mr. Shah (manager) told me during registration that the coffee area would open at 7 AM. I went at 7:35 AM and the room was locked. Mr. Shah came to the door in shorts and slippers and waved me off saying "no coffee ready". I went back in 10 minutes. Coffee was ready. I also poured a cup of orange juice and it was HOT. Not cool, not lukewarm, HOT. That was disgusting. There was no food at all, nothing, not even a crust of bread. The Inn promises "Satisfaction Guaranteed". I registered these comments with the Inn and have heard nothing. We will pass through Lumberton 4 more times in 2011. I emphasize "pass through" because we will not stop going either southbound or northbound.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stanemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    28
    14
    5
    19
See reviews for
57
34
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I have stayed here on several occasions for business and have always been pleased with the offerings. The rooms are clean, contemporary, and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Overall it is a much better value than most of the chain places in the area. Negatives would be some road noise due to proximity to interstate and limited breafast offerings but overall the inn provides a very comfy stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadwarrior411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2011

This was an unplanned stop. My truck broke down and while it was in the repair shop, this is the nicesest inn in the area. The staff went ubove and beyond the call of duty to make my unfortunate situation more tolorable. They where very attentive to my needs and wanted to make sure that I was taken care of.

As I am writing this review, I have just been informed that my truck will take another day to be ready. I am happily walking back down the inn for another nights stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottZechman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Funny story, my wife and I were traveling from Michigan to Florida and Stopped in Lumberton, NC. Upon leaving the next morning my wife and I each the other had gotten the cat. Only five hours later had we realized that we haven't seen the cat since it usually sleeps in the back of the Jeep. Well it was the next day before we were able to go back and look for "Fluffy" the cat. We were able to contact the manager and notify him of our mistake, fornutaly for us and Fluffy, the manager and his wife are great people who took care of our cat while we turned around and headed back to NC to pick her up! I have to say that anyone who will go out of their way for perfect strangers the way the manager of the Atkinson Inn & Suites in Lumberton, NC did are great people and they take care of their rooms the same way they take care of their customers, with the highest level of pride & professionalism that anyone looking for a good quality nights sleep could ask for.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleythedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Management/Owners were rude!!!! I work PM shift and he came banging on the door in the early am asking if I was leaving so he could clean. Also my company had prepaid for the room but I was then locked out of my room in the snow when I had not paid $10 for my dog the 3rd day - it had to be in cash and would not take a check card.
In addition, the continential breakfast is defined as juice and coffee. The customer is not king or anything else with this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Healthcare241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2010

My fiancee and I stayed there the day after Christmas. With snow on the ground and not able to continue North, we picked this place to stay because it was new and had a suite with a nice, warm jacuzzi. The owner is a nice and very funny guy who joked around with us. We had a nice night there. There is a good little store next to the hotel which was very convenient as well. This is a good little place to stop at if you're headed up or down I95.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2010

We needed a place to stay on our trip up I-95. Found this little gem and will definitely keep in on our list of great places to stay.

It's pet friendly, decently priced, and right off the I-95 north exit. And in the perfect area to break up our drive.

When we found it, we thought it was going to be a ok place to rest and hurry up to get out of in the morning-doesn't look like much from the outside, but once you open the door, it's great. Very nice styling of the rooms, flat screen tv, nice bed. The bed was nice and firm also.

The bathrooms are large but could use some updating.

I wish they had a free breakfast, but there are close by fast food places.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acejka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lumberton hotels
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 23 in Lumberton
168 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lumberton
Comfort Inn Lumberton
#6 of 23 in Lumberton
306 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lumberton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 23 in Lumberton
401 reviews
4.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lumberton
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lumberton
Red Roof Inn Lumberton
#14 of 23 in Lumberton
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atkinson Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atkinson Inn & Suites

Property: Atkinson Inn & Suites
Address: 3003 W 5th St, Exit 17 at I-95, Lumberton, NC 28358-6913
Location: United States > North Carolina > Lumberton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atkinson Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Lumberton is within walking distance from Atkinson Inn & Suites. Also nearby are attractions like the Exploration Station, Luther Britt Park, Pedroland Park, Robeson County Museum and the Museum of Native American Resource Center. The Lumberton Municipal Airport is likewise within close range.The Atkinson Inn & Suites offers guest rooms and suites equipped with modern conveniences. Among these are cable televisions, air-conditioning units, ironing facilities, hair dryers, alarm clocks and microwave ovens. Jacuzzi tubs can be found in certain suites. This Lumberton accommodation also provides business services, a 24-hour front desk, high-speed Internet access and free vehicle parking. The Atkinson Inn & Suites is a pet-friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Atkinson Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atkinson Inn And Suites
Atkinson Hotel Lumberton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing