We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atkinson Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Shortsville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Misleading”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Do not stay here. I stayed one night on a very long drive from West Palm Beach, Fl to Rochester, NY. Arrived late, front desk young lady was very nice and did mention that they did not offer breakfast as advertised. Which was fine...but it was not until I got into the room that I noticed the rooms are also NOT BRAND NEW as advertised. Very old furniture, Torn and stained lamp shades, walls were dirty and carpet old and stained, Sheets did not fit the bed well. All of that I could have dealt with...UNTIL I woke up in the am for a HOT shower and there was NO hot water. I tried several times for over an hour. Finally I called the front desk. She said OH yes, I called repair man, but he is not coming until later, That was unacceptable since the whole reason for a hotel is a bed and hot shower., I asked for a refund and she was very rude. Said NO, read the contract you signed...NO refunds...and besides, you slept all night in the bed. Needless to say,,,I got no refund or partial refund,..or no apology, I travel often and will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurie0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atkinsoninn, Owner at Atkinson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
First of all, we are sorry that you had this experience with our motel. As mentioned before, we do not offer breakfast since we bought this hotel last year. Our furniture are best compared to motel industry standard and rate. Our rooms are neat and clean from all angles which customers really appreciate. Your concern for hot water was genuine however, others customers did not have any complications. We called our company to fix the problem; it was fixed later on the same day. This is like any other business, we are going to have some kind of problem and is fixed as it goes. We didn't expect your behavior to be degraded either, like what you had done to our room! As a result of your checking in, there was damage furniture, torn table,a remote control in a microwave, leave trash in bath tub, Kleenex in toilet, smoked cigarettes or something else in a non-smoking room in addition to a damaged floor lamp. The cost of the repairs of the careless behaviors cost us over $300. Comparing the price of the damages to the coupon rate you paid; it was not reasonable. In your concern for a refund, our policy states that we do not offer a refund prior to checking in after 10 minutes. We are gladly to exchange the rooms if customer is not satisfied. Our intention was not to be rude, but asking for a refund once staying all night is not appropriate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    14
    5
    19
See reviews for
57
34
24
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is not in the best area of town. We suspected that as soon as we saw hotel however our friends that live there confirmed this wasn't a very good area. No other hotels are around - all at Exits 20 & 22. We met some very nice guests that stayed here however it was graduation weekend so we most guests we talked to were in town for graduation. Price of this hotel is very good, which is why we decided to stay there, along with reviews on Trip Advisor. Décor/furniture/items in room were good but room was not as clean as people have raved. We had hair in our bathroom floor that was not ours. We were in smoking room & we had to ask for ashtray. One of our comforters had a cigarette burn. Staff was friendly, very hard to understand on the phone. No coffee makers in room & the 24 hour office did not serve coffee until 7:00 am! I would not stay at this hotel again & I definitely would not stay there by myself.

Room Tip: I would not recommend staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my spouse for a night. The young woman at the counter was extremely corteous. Her mother, who I am assuming is part owner, was sitting across from her with her dog (they are a pet friendly hotel) and when I gave my last name she knew my first name and began talking to me. I felt like a valued customer, not just another person in a room. She told her daughter to give me a suite when I had only reserved a regular room with a Cal King bed. The room was very nice and clean with marble countertops all through out. I saw a microwave but I don't remember if therr was a mini fridge; it was so late I didn't look.
My original reservation was less than $80 and if you Google the hotel name and coupons you can get an even cheaper rate. Most of the hotels in Lumberton are sketchy, but this one was really nice. It is directly beside a gas station/convenience store and across the road from McDonalds and Ruby Tuesdays right off of I-95.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tritons2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Found a coupon in a coupons.com book. Did my research on my iPhone and decided to spend the night It was very clean and comfortable. There is no breakfast, but there is coffee and juice $54 incl tax with coupon--a bargain.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The rooms were clean and very comfortable. I came with my husband and son and had a great stay. The staff was very friendly, especially the lady at the front she gave us a bigger suite when we had just paid for a regular one. Great price, place and staff, a definite go to !.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I had been traveling all day and that was one of the nearest place I could find. What makes it even better it was right off the highway 95. The rooms are very clean and the people are very nice. I requiem this place for people who travel a lot and its a very quite place and very relaxed. It one of the best service I have found in a while.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The rooms are nice and cleans. We had a misunderstanding with the people running it. They did not want to work together nicely to come to a compromise. The woman was very rude. It really is too bad as the facility is nice.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melsky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lumberton hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lumberton
Comfort Inn Lumberton
#5 of 23 in Lumberton
302 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lumberton
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 23 in Lumberton
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lumberton
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
#4 of 23 in Lumberton
457 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lumberton
Red Roof Inn Lumberton
#13 of 23 in Lumberton
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atkinson Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atkinson Inn & Suites

Property: Atkinson Inn & Suites
Address: 3003 W 5th St, Exit 17 at I-95, Lumberton, NC 28358-6913
Location: United States > North Carolina > Lumberton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atkinson Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Lumberton is within walking distance from Atkinson Inn & Suites. Also nearby are attractions like the Exploration Station, Luther Britt Park, Pedroland Park, Robeson County Museum and the Museum of Native American Resource Center. The Lumberton Municipal Airport is likewise within close range.The Atkinson Inn & Suites offers guest rooms and suites equipped with modern conveniences. Among these are cable televisions, air-conditioning units, ironing facilities, hair dryers, alarm clocks and microwave ovens. Jacuzzi tubs can be found in certain suites. This Lumberton accommodation also provides business services, a 24-hour front desk, high-speed Internet access and free vehicle parking. The Atkinson Inn & Suites is a pet-friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Atkinson Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atkinson Hotel Lumberton
Atkinson Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing