We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational Outing”

Reed Gold Mine State Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Locust
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Educational Outing”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice day trip from Charlotte for a family outing. Provides education while being fun and advernturous.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    65
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Historical and relaxing”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have taken my young children here and both times they have very much enjoyed the tour. It is a self guided tour of the mine which makes it nice to take the time needed to learn about every area on the map.
**TIP** Bring a sweatshirt, even on the hottest of days, the mine is very chilly.
Outdoors, the old remains of the mine still stand which is more interesting for older kids and adults. The stamp mill during prime time is a great show for everyone!
Free tour of the mine, panning for gold is $3/pan and I have seen people find gold each time!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank drchumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go for the GOLD!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

this is a small jewel in the rough.
It makes you appreciate the hard lives of those in the 1800's.
I was awestruck by the manufactured items of those in the 1800's and their ingenuity.
I highly recommend the Reed Gold Mine for all to see.
CP
Charlotte

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great family outing”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I took my family there on a very hot day. The tour was not to long but it kept everyones attention. The grounds are kept nicely and it is easy to get around. We enjoyed the tour and would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank HJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very fun for all ages!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Interesting off the beaten path historic site that all will enjoy. Best of all it is free. Tour the mine, tour the museum.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reed Gold Mine State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Reed Gold Mine State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing