We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location right off BRP”
Review of Switzerland Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Switzerland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great location right off BRP”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This inn is literally right on the parkway. As others have noted it is circa. 1970. However, it was clean and the service was good. Our room was large and the wifi was good. We did not obtain a view room since it was foggy and we would not be able to see over 50 ft. Consequently we were on the front of the inn on a Saturday night which is the same night the have square dancing that did not end until midnight. Would stay here again but not next to the square dancing!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    168
    41
    17
    2
See reviews for
134
281
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed there 3 nites for a Jaguar car show and had a wonderful time. Given its name and the name of its village, I will review it to the standards of a mountain chalet in the Swiss countryside. As such it has the cozy feel of a mountain lodge in Switzerland with an always interesting and wonderful mountain view that changes with the highly variable Blue Ridge weather. My spacious Chanticleer room had all the amenities of a European hotel, plus 37" flat screen TV, good quiet A/C, fridge and microwave. Staff was friendly and helpful and efficient. Internet and WiFi service were included, but rather flaky due to its remote location. (This could be considered by some to be a big plus!). I look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The Chanticleer rooms are much larger and quieter than the rooms in the main lodge, but have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurfOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We chose Switzerland Inn based on reviews here on TA. We had a delightful, albeit short, stay in this lovely inn. The rooms are a bit dated but comfortable. The grounds appeared to be very unique and lovely. Unfortunately it was very rainy and foggy. Even so we really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again should the opportunity present itself.
It's literally right off the Blueridge Parkway and there was a sweet little gift shop with locally made goods. The restaurant had a good selection and our servers were very attentive. Prices were a bit high but to be expected with the location.
I can only imagine how spectacular the views here would be during the fall foliage season.
Hope to go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful birthday weekend spent at the Switzerland Inn. We stayed in the Main lodge upstairs. Room was nicely updated. The view was fantastic. By far my favorite part of the stay was watching the sun rise from the balcony of my room. Even if you are not an early riser you must do this at least once! Great seafood and prime rib buffet on Friday nights! Highly recommend to anyone! Staff was friendly and service was outstanding. They were very helpful when needing information about the area and the hotel. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsogirl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Switzerland Inn is located in a beautiful area, providing magnificent views from many of the rooms in the inn. Unfortunately the inn has not been well maintained and the rooms are quite dated in many aspects. For example, the air-condition unit in our room was so noisy that it kept us awake; and although the windows and door had drapes/shades the side-light on the side of the door was not covered so when the sun came up we were awake. The lighting in the room is limited, which in a room that is already dark because of the wood paneling the dim lighting made it dreary. Some of the staff were helpful and friendly while others seemed to be bothered by our inquiries. Although we will not return to the inn, the grounds are beautiful and the view outstanding and worth a trip to Little Switzerland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDR909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It was dry until we arrived the monsoon hit .Music was awesome on the porch until the rain then moved to the bar. We had the seafood buffet was great as usual prime rib and all the goodies to go with it.The room was clean we reserved a king and got a double. Bathroom clean. The view was clouds and fog.Breakfast was great. The restaurant made up for the room mixup.

Room Tip: Rooms with view are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank one2doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I highly recommend Switzerland Inn to relax and enjoy the great view. The rooms where great, the food yummy and the overall atmosphere is chill. You can relax with a book, go hiking, check out the small town, play tennis and listen to great music at night. It's a short drive away from great hikes off the parkway. The staff is superb and very accommodating. Jody Lee Hager, the musician who played at night was the icing on the cake. He was fantastic and created great atmosphere. I have to mention the attention to detail they give the grounds. They are immaculate. The trees and flowers are beautiful. I would certainly go back! My only recommendations for improvement include; please add an option for shade at the pool. Even if its a temporary umbrella that can be set up upon request. We had to limit our time in the pool because there was no shade. Also, please sell sunscreen in your store. The wireless is spotty, so that could be upgraded and when I had to use the land line for a business call, it was crackly. Last rec is to provide visuals or maps of the local trails. The descriptions are good, but it was not easy to get a sense of exactly where they where in location to the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
2.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
19.4 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
6.5 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Switzerland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Switzerland Inn

Property: Switzerland Inn
Address: 86 High Ridge Road, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Switzerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Switzerland Hotel Little Switzerland
Switzerland Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing