We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Vacation Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Switzerland Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Switzerland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Vacation Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My partner, Ronald and I had a wonderful stay at your inn. From the moment he made reservations, we were made to fill welcome. Our room was very clean, the bed confortable and the room was quiet, the staff was always friendly and helpful, the food was outstanding and artfully presented, the wait staff were attentive and of course the view is spectacular. We have already recommended your fine inn to many friends and we look forward to coming back again for rest and relaxation.

We really enjoyed meeting so many nice and friendly guests. They all seemed so relaxed and happy and I am sure much of that attitude came from your fine service. We always felt pampered.

We wish you continued success and thank you for making us feel special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    165
    42
    17
    2
See reviews for
133
277
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed one night in the main lodge while on a girl's weekend trip. The room was one of the 'dated' rooms (with wood paneling) but still very clean, well maintained and with all the standard comforts. The bathroom had been updated (super hot water). The only item I feel should be noted.. our room also had an exterior door to the outside parking area. This was excellent for unloading but some may prefer this access not be possible so you should inquire if so. Also, there was a side window(alongside the exterior door)that would have let serious light thru come morning had we not tapped into our surprisingly impressive window dressing skills and found a way to cover it.

This hotel is right off the Parkway so it's a super easy stop. The views from the lobby, pool, etc are beautiful.

We arrived late on a Friday night with no reservations and a pretty full parking area. There were different front desk staff at check-in/check-out; everyone we dealt with was helpful, friendly and hospitable. Since it was late, we had to have dinner in the bar; laid back atmosphere, excellent burgers!... I mean excellent.. like the best I've had in a good long while and I am a serious carnivore.

We loved this stop. I am sure it is great in summer but it was super neat to be there with the cold air outside, fireplace crackling inside and the cozy lobby to just hang out in and relax.

My only suggestion... sell the white diner-style mugs that were for use in the rooms! They would be the perfect memento.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wkendtriptakemeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here a couple of days ago while touring the Blue Ridge Parkway. I found this to be an excellent stay overall.

The Room:
Very clean, with plenty of charm. We stayed in Alpine 1, which had hard wood floors, a separate sitting area, and a great view. The only complaint I would have about this room, is the dead bolt didn't lock.

The restaurant:
I would say dinner(the kings cut prime rib) was excellent! In fact, not only was this the best meal I have ever had at a hotel restaurant, but one of the best I have had at ANY restaurant. The atmosphere in the restaurant is very nice and classic looking, with lots of wood. The breakfast, and the coffee left quite a bit to be desired though.

The Lobby:
Very nice, large, and with great views. There where lots of people hanging out, reading the paper, and they eve had these two large checker boards to play checkers on.

The Staff:
Everyone I ran into was very nice. From the bartender to the front desk clerk, I would give them 5 out of 5 stars.

The location:
Right off of the blue ridge parkway, and a short drive to Wal-Mart if you need something. The location is excellent. Nestled in amongst the trees, but close enough to civilization if you need something.

The Bar:
I went in here to order a sandwich. The bartender was very nice. The bar was filled with what seemed like lots of locals who knew each other, but everyone seemed very nice.

Summary:
I really liked this place! I would stay here again in an instant!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markcas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beardstown, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I attended a Bose Conference at the Switzerland inn in 2008, it was amazing.
Little Switzerland is a must see town, atop of hill with a grand panoramic view.
The hotel is very ritzy, but not glitzy, the rooms were top notch, the staff, very friendly and helpful throughout the weekend.

We were provided with conference rooms for the discussions and live music, a lodge for a nighttime concert, and were waited on hand and foot during our time there.

Food there was excellent, with an array of chef prepared meals and boutique menu.
Would love to go back there sometime.

Room Tip: We were in the main lodge, rooms were excellent. Some of our colleagues stayed in the A-frame cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Switzerland Inn is located in a beautiful little spot right off the Blue Ridge Parkway. It provides great access to popular hiking spots such as Linville Falls, Grandfather Mountain and Cascade Falls among others. Rooms are comfortable and clean and the on site restaurant serves a great prime rib sandwich and spinach, egg and provolone breakfast sandwich in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were spending four days on the Blue Ridge Parkway and this hotel was recommended to us by friends. It was $20 more to get a room with a view, but well worth it. The rooms are not fancy, but they are large, with good-sized bathroom, and all amenities. It was nice to have the little porch to sit outside and enjoy the view in the evening.

Everyone was very nice and helpful with my questions. I do wish I had explored the eating options before ordering from the dinner menu to take to my room. The food was excellent - we had the salad plate and fried calamari. Both excellent.

Breakfast in the morning was very good and fairly reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a fabulous weekend wedding at the BEAUTIFUL and AMAZING Switzerland Inn and Chalet!! Whitney, the event coordinator was so wonderful to work with on all of the details and the staff were friendly and so helpful during what can sometimes be a crazy time! Everyone at Switzerland Inn made the wedding fun and relaxed while still keeping a classy and beautiful atmosphere! You all the BEST!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
2.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
19.4 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
20.2 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Switzerland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Switzerland Inn

Property: Switzerland Inn
Address: 86 High Ridge Road, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Little Switzerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Switzerland Hotel Little Switzerland
Switzerland Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing