We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE!!!”
Review of Switzerland Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Switzerland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stayed for the weekend two weeks ago with my wife and 8 year old. Staff was friendly and courteous, room was clean, and the views were beautiful. Eat at the restaurant several times and the food and portions were good. Would highly recommend this hotel for a weekend getaway or vacation. Looking forward to visiting again.

FC

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 691 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2011

The Switzerland Inn is a hidden gem. There is immediate access to the Blue Ridge Parkway and all of its amenities, but with the views at the Inn, you don't need to leave to experience them. With the Inn, Restaurant, and Lounge all located in one place, it is the ideal setting for group events. We had friends and family come in from all over and all were amazed at the beauty of this place. The staff goes above and beyond to make it the most enjoyable experience. The wedding buffet was unlike any you will experience, the food and selection is outstanding. I highly recommend this place for any of your most important events or just for a quick weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sscercone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Our stay at the Switzerland Inn was wonderful. Beautiful views, relaxed atmosphere and a very welcoming and helpful staff made our visit very relaxing and enjoyable. We enjoyed the Great Room in the evening with a crackling fire, checkers, puzzles comfortable chairs for catching up with friends and planning the next day's adventure. Right on the Parkway it was so convenient for seeing the sights. We highly recommend the Switzerland Inn and hope to visit again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to enjoy the beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynch22910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

You either get it, or you don't. If you are on vacation to relax, unwind, and enjoy yourself, you will love this place.

Backwoods Western NC isn't about the nightlife scene - this is about relaxing and enjoying what the mountains have to offer. If it's not for you, it's not. If it is, you will be in heaven.

Clean, comfortable rooms, beautiful pool and hot tubs, amazing dinners, visit the great bartenders and take a bottle of wine to your room, and watch the sunset from your balcony.

That is mountain living. If that is not exciting to you, you may be in the wrong place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyJns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

First the good.
The location is outstanding.
If you are traveling on the Blue Ridge Parkway, it can not be beat. Exit..and you are in front of their hotel. The views are fantastic. Pay for a mountain view. The grounds are beautiful, especially at sunset and sunrise.
My room was in the main lodge. I found the lobby charming. Big stone fireplace, huge windows with that view, game table, leather chairs and couches, jigsaw puzzle and a big table to do them, stone floor. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful and very nice on the phone hen I made my reservation.
I had dinner at the restaurant and it was quite good, with a very nice hostess and wait staff. And a fine cold Yuengling beer and prime rib!

Now, the not so good. The room was very dated. As someone else wrote, hate that 80's looking bedspead, the dark room wainscoting. Granted, a nice bathroom that looking newly redone...but the room itself was not charmimg. The room was Huge...and rather empty. Old windows that did not lock shut too well. Odd low bed with exposed base. Comfy enough..but flat, terrible pillows. Went to plug something in at the bedside plug and the cover was covered with dust.
No free breakfast and the one I paid for in the restaurant was only fair. Great view again, good coffee...and sausage as hard as hockey pucks.

This place could be outstanding.
As is, it is average, saved only by a totally fantastic location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitemaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed in one of the Chanticleer rooms on our trek down the Blue Ridge Parkway recently. The View was spectacular! The room was the largest I ever stayed in. That said, I was so far away from the TV when I lounged on the bed that I couldn't hear anything without turning up the volume really high. It would be nice if they would put some other kind of lighting in the room, as--like many typical hotels--the room was dark. I noticed no musty smells like others have reported, and I appreciate that the bathroom was very clean. The toilet, however, was clogged when we arrived, but we managed to get it working after many, many flushes. We ate dinner as well as breakfast the next morning in the restaurant adjacent to the main office. Breakfast was outstanding; dinner was a disappointment. (The wait staff were fine, however, and very accomodating.) Both our dinner meals were "not great". But, the fried green tomatoes appetizer was wonderful!

This hotel needs remodeling or upgrading. I can't put my finger on it. It wasn't a bad place to stay, yet I wouldn't stay there for more than overnight. It would probably be fine for a family with small children, or an elderly couple. It was fairly expensive for what we got. But, since we were overnighters, it was okay.

Our GPS could not find this hotel in either Little Switzerland or Spruce Pine. Mapquest found it in Spruce Pine.

Final verdict: Not bad, but not great, either.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nose4roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

One of my favorite places to go to unwind. Awesome staff and a very relaxing venue.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
2.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
212 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
106 reviews
24.4 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
599 reviews
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
139 reviews
30.4 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Switzerland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Switzerland Inn

Address: 86 High Ridge Road, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Switzerland
Price Range: $69 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Switzerland Hotel Little Switzerland
Switzerland Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing