We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skyline Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming place!”
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We came with several friends and everyone had a great time. There is covered parking in the back for motorcycles, a great view, and the rooms were small but comfortable. Mike and Lynn were both very friendly and made you feel right at home. They served a dinner of salmon and bbq ribs on the deck with a live band for only $10. It was well worth the money!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncclimbergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    46
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
39
75
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Breathtaking views from this quaint inn/tavern in Spruce Pine. Don't be fooled by the humble exterior. The rooms are renovated and the entire hotel has beautiful hardwood floors and genuine pine walls throughout. Make sure you request a room on the balcony side for your own view from the comfort of your room. The Skyline Village Inn and Cavern Tavern has a great secret history as well. Make sure you check out their website [--]. We are big fans of the owners we just met. Very happy they accept pets, as we often travel with our two small dogs. Very relaxed atmosphere. Not a fancy hotel, but no attitude there either. We will visit again and again. Great wine/beer selection in their own package store, too! We just happened upon this establishment and are very happy to have found a hidden gem in the beautiful mountains of Western North Carolina.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2009

Our family of 5 stayed overnight while traveling to VA. We wanted to take the childdren to the caverns located nearby. From our arrival we felt as though we were family. The owners, Mike and Lynn Thrift made my children and my wife feel at home. We came in on a very drab and wet day so we were confined to the hotel after visiting the caverns. Lynn brought some DVD's up to the room for our children to watch. There was a game room downstairs and my wife and I took the time to teach our children how to play pool.( A bonding family moment) The Thrifts have a few dogs and the children had a great time visiting with them. Overall I would say that the Thrift's have the customer's needs at the top of there to do list. What a great place to stay, we will be back when the weather is nicer!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Breathtaking views from this quaint inn/tavern in Spruce Pine. Don't be fooled by the humble exterior. The rooms are renovated and the entire hotel has beautiful hardwood floors and genuine pine walls throughout. Make sure you request a room on the balcony side for your own view from the comfort of your room. The Skyline Village Inn and Cavern Tavern has a great secret history as well. Make sure you check out their website [--]. We are big fans of the owners we just met. Very happy they accept pets, as we often travel with our two small dogs. Very relaxed atmosphere. Not a fancy hotel, but no attitude there either. We will visit again and again. Great wine/beer selection in their own package store, too! We just happened upon this establishment and are very happy to have found a hidden gem in the beautiful mountains of Western North Carolina.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SashaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carey nc
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2009

We were biking the parkway and booked a room here through Orbitz. It is conveniently located on the Parkway in between Boone and Asheville.

I stayed here several years ago andthought it was quaint and rustic with interesting woodworking features and terrific views.
The first thing we noticed were the improvements made in landscaping and a new parking lot. The parking is in the back so bikes can't be seen from the road and there is only one way in and out so security is good. The new owners have also built a covered motorcycle parking lot which was fantastic. The motorcysle parking is on new concrete slab and the cover is metal and looks like a barn.

We walked into the hotel from the parking lot and saw they had taken out the old carpet to expose hardwood floors which were beautiful. There is a small parlor area on the 3rd floor and the owners have built a wood inlay floor in this area which is made from several different types of wood and is gorgeous.

It was mid week and the restaurant was closed the first night of our stay, but the owner's son cooked us a ribeye steak meal and it was one of the best I have ever eaten. We ate on the deck which also has been added in the past couple of years.

We spoke to the owners, Mike & Lynn, extensively about the improvements and their plans. They have done many things that are not visually apparent like install new plumbing, electricity and heating systems.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will go back.

  • Liked — Location, history, view & hospitality
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travlinman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We rented 2 rooms for one night while cycling the Parkway. We stayed mid-week so the restaurant was not open to the public, but the owners prepared a spaghetti & meatball dinner for us for a very reasonable price and it was delicious. (We had contacted them beforehand and requested the special carbo loading dinner.) This place has an incredible selection of wine and beer so we tested out some great brews during dinner.

The hotel has a very interesting history of bootlegging and moonshining that the owner shared with us over dinner. We had a great time.

The views from the balcony are excellent and the rooms are renovated and very nice. They have hardwood floors in the halls and the rooms. Everyting was clean and nice. The rooms and hallways are panelled with many different types of wood.

They were putting in a new parking lot when we were there and I understand from friends who were recently there that the parking lot is now repaved and that they added a concrete parking lot for bikers (motorcyclists). They recently rplaced all their plumbing and changed the heating system as well as the hot water system to state of the art on-demand systems which worked well for us.

This is a must stop for anyone traveling the Parkway.

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BSIMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Lear, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2008

This is like visiting some old friends! I was very skeptical when I made my reservations for the Skyline, I am a bit of a hotel snob. I found it on Trip Advisor, and wasn't really sure. I was pleasently surprised when we arrived at the room, it was very clean and comfortable, with a brand new bathroom. The owners were very nice people that made you feel welcome. I will stay again!

  • Liked — The friendly owners and other guests
  • Disliked — The lack of direction upon checking in, there isnt and office for info.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brokeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
23.2 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.0 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
15.0 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Village Inn

Property: Skyline Village Inn
Address: 12255 NC Hwy. 226A, Milepost 331, Between Little Switzerland and Spruce Pine, Little Switzerland, NC 28777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Switzerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skyline Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Milepost 331 on the Blue Ridge Parkway, halfway between Asheville and Blowing Rock/ Boone. Just 25 miles north of Mt. Mitchell and 25 miles south of Grandfather Mountain. We are motorcycle friendly and, in fact we rent Dual Sport Motorcycles. We are also Pet friendly. We are perched high on top of the Blue Ridge adjacent to the Parkway and only 200 feet from the Parkway ramp at the NC226 exit. We have 16 affordable rooms with a balcony that runs the length of the building overlooking the Catawba Valley and surrounding mountains. We have covered motorcycle parking as well as ground floor access to all 3 floors. The building has been renovated with new plumbing, electrical and refinished red oak floors. There is some very unique wood paneling made from 22 varieties of native wood. We serve guests only in the restaurant with an excellent beer and wine selection for on and off premises. Our gift shop has some unique rocks, gems and minerals, jewelry and Diamondback NC226A souvenirs and T-shirts. We pride ourselves on customer focus and hospitality. Come see us at the Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Skyline Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Village Inn & Cavern Tavern Hotel Little Switzerland
Skyline Village Inn And Cavern Tavern
Skyline Village Hotel Cavern Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing