We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mountain Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skyline Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Mountain Visit”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great place in the mountains, just off Blue Ridge Parkway. I've stayed there approximately 5 times. Mike makes you feel at home. You check in on the first floor and park around back and come in on the third floor. You can sit out on the balcony and look at the mountains. Has a motorcycle shed and place to wash your cycle. There is a great supply of adult beverages on hand. And in these mountains there is a Walmart close by.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    46
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
39
75
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is located very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, with a great view from the balcony. The bathroom was clean, so were the linens. Downside: the walls are a little on the thin side, we could hear what the guy in the room across from ours was saying, and he was not shouting. We had dinner downstairs and we did not particularly enjoy it. Mike explained they were just getting started in the season and he had a big event planned for the weekend so he had not been able to stock the kitchen yet. We believed him and I think the other reviews confirm it. He more than made up for it with his friendly way and the information he gave us about North Carolina and many other things. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

...but you should expect clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, good food and amazing views!! Dinner our night there was all house made and they even had a band. Their location right off the parkway was easy to find and had the amazing views that we had seen all day on the Parkway. We had such a nice, relaxing time and can't wait to go back - thanks to everyone at the Skyline Village Inn!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here with my teenage daughter on the way to DC. Place is full of history, owners are full of kindness. Could not ask for a better time. You can spend more money somewhere else if you're not an especially social person, but for us, this was a perfect fit. Great stories, great people, great dogs, great breakfast. HIGHLY recommended for those who like truly good beer; come on Wednesday night for an even bigger selection. I will definitely be staying here again. I left DC early and came back here and felt like I was coming home. You just can't ask for more than that.

Room Tip: The view from the balcony is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hansfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here with my teenage daughter on the way to DC. Place is full of history, owners are full of kindness. Could not ask for a better time. You can spend more money somewhere else if you're not an especially social person, but for us, this was a perfect fit. Great stories, great people, great dogs, great breakfast. HIGHLY recommended for those who like truly good beer; come on Wednesday night for an even bigger selection. I will definitely be staying here again. I left DC early and came back here and felt like I was coming home. You just can't ask for more than that.

Room Tip: Probably a little less road noise in the back, but then you would lose the great view and the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My father and I took a motorcycle trip.. I was in charge of finding places to stay... We pulled into this place... and my dad looked at me... confused.. from the outside this place looks bad.. but inside is amazing... so much history.. rooms are simple but comfortable... the views from room are amazing... we got lucky and watched a storm go over the mountains that night.. the light show.. wow... the owner Mike is a great guy.... worth the nights stay... and have breakfast in the morning... great deal.. thanks Mike

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I visited Little Switzerland on 4 occasions taking my 3 grandchildren on vacation for mountain fun. We had balcony rooms that were clean and inviting (at least they were clean until 2 teenage boys took up residence in one of them) - the view was great to enjoy with morning coffee. Lynn and Mike were very friendly and gracious and went out of their way to help me plan outings with my grandchildren that I could do on a limited budget. The staff was accomodating and friendly. One of them found a lost digital camera and turned it in to Mike so we could claim it. On another occasion I attended a "murder mystery" night at the hotel with my daughter and we had a fabulous fun filled time. Yet another time my daughter and I took our 2 dogs on a trip to the hotel ( yes dog friendly) so we could do some mountain hiking with the dogs. I love the hotel and will return often.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
23.2 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.0 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
15.0 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Village Inn

Property: Skyline Village Inn
Address: 12255 NC Hwy. 226A, Milepost 331, Between Little Switzerland and Spruce Pine, Little Switzerland, NC 28777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Switzerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skyline Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Milepost 331 on the Blue Ridge Parkway, halfway between Asheville and Blowing Rock/ Boone. Just 25 miles north of Mt. Mitchell and 25 miles south of Grandfather Mountain. We are motorcycle friendly and, in fact we rent Dual Sport Motorcycles. We are also Pet friendly. We are perched high on top of the Blue Ridge adjacent to the Parkway and only 200 feet from the Parkway ramp at the NC226 exit. We have 16 affordable rooms with a balcony that runs the length of the building overlooking the Catawba Valley and surrounding mountains. We have covered motorcycle parking as well as ground floor access to all 3 floors. The building has been renovated with new plumbing, electrical and refinished red oak floors. There is some very unique wood paneling made from 22 varieties of native wood. We serve guests only in the restaurant with an excellent beer and wine selection for on and off premises. Our gift shop has some unique rocks, gems and minerals, jewelry and Diamondback NC226A souvenirs and T-shirts. We pride ourselves on customer focus and hospitality. Come see us at the Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Skyline Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Village Inn & Cavern Tavern Hotel Little Switzerland
Skyline Village Inn And Cavern Tavern
Skyline Village Hotel Cavern Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing