We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skyline Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Hill
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint Inn”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Beautiful views from this quaint Inn. We had a wonderful time during the Murder Mystery weekend. Food was great. Loved the pumpkin waffles and the sweet potato soup so much.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpl5314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    49
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
79
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

On our first trip up the Blue Ridge Parkway(from Cherokee), we didn't know what to expect. We didn't know the times it would take to get to each segment of our trip, or how the accomodations would be. We planned on driving from one end of North Carolina to the other in 3 days and driving back home on the 4th day, so I made reservations about 100 miles apart each day. This placed us in Spruce Pine on our 2nd day. My husband, I, and an older lady friend went along for the trip. We had trouble finding the Inn at first. It was right off the Parkway, but we missed it.
We had to call the owner, Mike, and be "lead in". It was dark when we arrived. The building is built of stone. As you enter, you see the front desk, and over to the side, a sort of retail liquor shop and a little gift shop. This was somewhat off-putting to our lady friend, a strict tee-totaler. My husband and I, however, were enthralled by the old fashioned feeling this placed evoked. It was late, and we were hungry, so, once we were checked in, we opted to stay for the dinner buffet that was offered. I have to say that it was just average, but Mike and his wife explained they were short of help at the moment, so we gave them the benefit of the doubt on this.
Our room was off the hallway, with a door the balcony. All rooms open onto the balcony. However, some rooms only have the one door,from the balcony. The room was like going back in time, with the wooden, creaky floors, and the quilt on the bed. It was quite large. There was only a shower in the bathroom, with the sink in the room. This, because the bathroom was small. There were pegs were on the wall for hanging clothing. My only complant is the mirror was so high I could not see into it to comb my hair. I am 5 ft. tall ,and it was placed there for a much taller person.
My highest praise goes to the quality of service. Mike and his wife did their very best to welcome all travelers and make us feel at home. If we needed anything, they were both quick to respond. Actually, this felt more like a bed and breakfast than an Inn.
I must say that the value was a little steep for the establishment. However, taking into account the fact that it was high season and this location was right off the parkway, maybe not.
This Inn was built in 1944, and is in an ongoing process of restoration. Mike has lots of information about it. I have to add, My husband and I are huge history buffs. This place was right up our alley.
One other thing--they accept pets, and Mike has a dog of his own. I wish I remembered his wife's name. She was such a hard worker, and so nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens into the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingrammy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The Skyline Village Inn is rustic but not in a good way. We had a great view but that's about the only good thing I say. Our room was a tiny box with wood paneling. It would be charming if it were not for the cobwebs and musty smell. There was a ceiling fan that I had to run on high speed to keep the smell at bay. It needed to be aired out for about a month. There are small things that the owners could do to the room to make it better. Replace the chipped soap holder and dust for starts. I really hate giving bad reviews but this place was a real disapointment. The beer selection was great and the guy who checked us in was personable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank britta2mozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This place is on top of a mountain, so you get great mountain views. The property is somewhat rundown, and decorated really country and a little weird. The rooms were surprisingly spotless, but the problem is that you can hear everything. It was supposed to be a romantic trip that wasn't romantic at all (if you know what I mean) because of that. All in all, its a place to lay your head down and sleep. Given a choice we would not return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latigrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We made this reservation while we were driving the Blue Ridge Parkway. I cannot believe the reviews that say this is a recommended place to stay for couples. Maybe if you are with a group of party-ers. There are coolers FULL of diverse beer upon your entering the "lobby" area. I cannot speak for much of the hotel (dining areas, food, etc) because we arrived, took a look at the room, and RAN! The manager called the owner to explain we did not want to keep our reservation and he rudely told us he would have to charge us a $20 cancellation fee. The hotel parking lot was empty and no guests wondering-hmmm. It was scary! No locks on the open back door. The bed was terrible! The property looked like a vacant abandon bldg when we arrived! Bad Idea!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank leaflovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikeatskyline, Owner at Skyline Village Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Leaflover is angry because we required her to pay a cancellation fee that was part of the contractual agreement. Too bad.This covers our expenses for accepting the reservation through our internet partners and she was informed about it when making the reservation. Don't enter a contract you don't intend to honor. Her criticisms are ridiculous.
We keep an unlocked open door to the parking lot so our customers can enter. Imagine that. She criticizes a bed she did not sleep in. She complains no one else was there in the afternoon when she arrived. There were 10 out of 16 other rooms rented that day and in the middle of the week. People on vacation do not linger at the Inn. They have other things occupying their time. Or maybe they were avoiding her. She doesn't like our Wine and beer shop. We try to make the point that it is the best selection on the Parkway! Somehow she missed that. I must step up my advertising if she was unaware of it before getting here. Appreciate the heads up.
And thank you for not staying here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The location of the inn is right beside the road, very easy to find. Nice people. It has a cozy restaurant which offers dinner buffet and breakfast. In the front of the inn is a look out, the morning view is spectacular!!! Highly recommend !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fantuan_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The view is fantastic, the accomodations are rustic, the owner a great story teller and genuinely nice man. We heard about this place on a motorcycle charity ride. As the mountains are one of our favorite destinations, especially in the fall, this stay was a no brainer...Mike was a perfect host...concerned for our needs and helpful in planning our days ride. The weather didn't always cooperate, but all in all we had a really good time...will return when we can.

Room Tip: the balcony rooms have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
125 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
551 reviews
23.2 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
92 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
127 reviews
15.0 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Village Inn

Property: Skyline Village Inn
Address: 12255 NC Hwy. 226A, Milepost 331, Between Little Switzerland and Spruce Pine, Little Switzerland, NC 28777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Switzerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skyline Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Milepost 331 on the Blue Ridge Parkway, halfway between Asheville and Blowing Rock/ Boone. Just 25 miles north of Mt. Mitchell and 25 miles south of Grandfather Mountain. We are motorcycle friendly and, in fact we rent Dual Sport Motorcycles. We are also Pet friendly. We are perched high on top of the Blue Ridge adjacent to the Parkway and only 200 feet from the Parkway ramp at the NC226 exit. We have 16 affordable rooms with a balcony that runs the length of the building overlooking the Catawba Valley and surrounding mountains. We have covered motorcycle parking as well as ground floor access to all 3 floors. The building has been renovated with new plumbing, electrical and refinished red oak floors. There is some very unique wood paneling made from 22 varieties of native wood. We serve guests only in the restaurant with an excellent beer and wine selection for on and off premises. Our gift shop has some unique rocks, gems and minerals, jewelry and Diamondback NC226A souvenirs and T-shirts. We pride ourselves on customer focus and hospitality. Come see us at the Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Skyline Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Village Inn And Cavern Tavern
Skyline Village Inn & Cavern Tavern Hotel Little Switzerland
Skyline Village Hotel Cavern Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing