We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time on the Patio”
Review of Chalet Restaurant

Chalet Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Time on the Patio”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wednesday nights; eating wings and oysters on the patio with some friends---nothing else like it. View for miles across the foothills of North Carolina.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bradley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    78
    28
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a view and great service”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A true gem of a discovery. Right off the Blue Ridge parkway (mile marker 334) with an exceptional view. The area right outside the patio had plenty of room to let the kids (we had 14) run around while the food was being prepared. Staff was great. Very good food from the cheeseburger to the smoked trout sandwich.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bob a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
556 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“I think the chef stayed home!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Here's our impression of the Chalet restaurant:

The concept and menu are well thought out. It seemed to us that a competent chef created the menu and then dropped it in an overwhelmed and under trained staff's lap. The food was downright terrible! Even the hamburgers our children ordered were severely overcooked. The onion soup is right out of a soup box with croutons and cheese added. The salads were fair at best. My fish was beyond well done and the "pasta cake" was the absolute worst menu item we have ever experienced. My wife's chicken was under seasoned and the risotto was sticky, however it was the only item we ate that was seasoned well. The staff was unimpressive. Unfortunately, this horrible experience cost us 100 bucks. When you stay at the Switzerland Inn, take the time to travel when you want to eat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JetBlueDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Made to feel welcome”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My friends and I were treated extremely well at the Chalet. After being treated very rudely at the restaurant down the hill. Our server Sharon was very friendly and went out of her way for us. WE were offered our choice of menus. The dinner was great the service outstanding. Thank you NIkki and Jordon for a wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelzer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything was great!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

After being turned away at the Little Switzerland Cafe down the hill from our stay at the Little Switzerland Inn because of having a group of 16, we were immediately given the front room to ourself and made to feel like we were the only ones in the restaurant. The menu was great and we were given a variety of wonderful choices including chicken, beef, Italian and seafood. The dessert called Pecan Roll was wonderful! Please plan to visit them next time your are in the area. They will make you feel welcome!

We were greeted by Jordan who was the food and beverage director. He was very pleasant and immediately set his staff in action to accommodate our group. Our waitress was Sharon who was pleasant and entertaining. Nikki was the Assistant property manager who came to our table at the end of the evening to make sure we enjoyed our meal and that we enjoyed our visit to Little Switzerland Chalet. We will be back and bring more friends!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yolanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet Restaurant also viewed

Little Switzerland, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Little Switzerland, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Chalet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing