We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Experience”
Review of Linville Gorge

Linville Gorge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
south boston va
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We hiked the falls on a recent trip to Banner Elk N.C. We took the moderate walking trail. It wasn't too difficult too navigate. My 7 and 10 yr old nieces loved it. My sister who had a stroke 10 months ago even went three-fourths of the way!!! It provided not only beautiful scenery but a sense of accomplishment for our whole family. We were able to witness firsthand my sister's personal triumph as she was able to literally climb from a low point in her life (we had lost our mother to Alzhiemer"s the week prior to her stroke) to the height of success!!! It was a memory I will treasure forever!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank deelite66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    66
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great 2-Hour Excursion”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Great way to spend 2 hours. No entrance fee. You can view the falls from three different vantage points (as you climb up the mountain). The hike up the mountain is about .7 miles altogether and is not too challenging. Good experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Palermo410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Falls are worth the walk”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went on a "moderate" walking trail to see the falls. It is about a one to one and a half mile round trip along a gravel trail with tree roots growing across the trail in several places. This trail would probably be difficult for tha handicapped because it is primarily up hill and tha tree root problem
All in all, it is worth the walk to see the falls. Do not expect Niagra, but it is nice. It is near milepost 316 on Blue Ridge Parkway and is free. Just follow signs to falls.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hiking..”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Love the outdoors with my family and we try to go hiking here all the time. Its a beautiful place but just be careful because it can be a little dangerous..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SleepInn_NC162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing Views, Needs better signage”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We started walking in 18 degree weather and snowing. I had no clue how far it was and it was quite a ways. When we arrived at the first viewing, we decided to keep going because there would be bigger falls. There were. The views were amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank FL_Prelude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linville Gorge also viewed

Marion, North Carolina Mountains
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Linville Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing