We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View”
Review of Linville Gorge

Linville Gorge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Deltona, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We took a side trip from Asheville to Linville Falls, the hiking and view was worth the drive. We went during a rainy day, make sure to wear hiking boots or shoes with good grip that you don't mind getting muddy.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank HurdleQueen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    67
    17
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We found the Linville Caverns to be a nice unexpected treat. It is a walking tour but worth your time. We saw a bat the size of a chicken nugget on the cave wall and one also flew past us.

We left there and headed to the Linville Falls, the walk will give you a good work out.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
307 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“worth the walk even in the fall with limited water flow”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We took a side trip off the Blue Ridge Parkway to check this out and are glad we did. The hike to all three overlooks was pleasant through the woods and the views were each unique and necessary to really appreciate the beauty of the falls. We had a sunny cool day which made for perfect hiking weather. We decided to take the overlooks in order, saving the full view for last. Each overlook has space to just sit and enjoy the view.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bikingfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great hike!”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We drove down to the Linville Groge to see the falls today from Blowing Rock. It was a beautiful drive down the Parkway to the Gorge. There are 3 overlooks on the .5 mile to 1 mile hike. I would recommend passing the first 2 overlooks and go straight to the 3rd overlook of the complete upper and lower falls. This overlook is about a 1 mile hike. The views of the falls and the gorge are beautiful. Then on the way down stop at the other 2 overlooks at .7 and .5 miles. Completely worth the stop.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AandC-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

On our last minute trip to the Blue Ridge Parkway, we decided to stop at Linville Falls. It was getting late, but we decided to take the 1/2 mile hike to the top of the falls. We are so glad we did! The hike is very easy and does not take long. If you want to see the actual falls cascading down, it is an extra .8 mile, but we did not have time. We will definitely go back to see the rest!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BDenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linville Gorge also viewed

Marion, North Carolina Mountains
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Linville Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing