We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great owners, good place to stay...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linville Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkview Lodge & Cabins
North Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value, great owners, good place to stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Visited Linville Falls area on vacation this October. My first stay at Parkview Lodge was nice. I wanted a rustic and quaint room and this is what I received and enjoyed very much. No phone in the room (I hate those) so this was a plus for me. Very comfortable bed! Trucks passing by at night can be bothersome so I brought a fan along to help drown that out and was successful. My room was clean and had everything I needed and you can park right outside, making loading and unloading a snap. Very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, very good places to eat. The provided free breakfast was nice, served in a relaxed atmosphere. I will stay there again!

Room Tip: The cabin in behind the main building and likely a bit quieter at night. Rooms on the south end pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sullivans Island
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were a group of 8 bicyclists traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway, and wound up in Linville Falls one night at the Parkview Lodge. Convenient to the parkway, the hotel has been there a while - but the coolest thing is that Cindy offered to cook us dinner - saying "we know how to cook for bicyclists". And, that was very true - had a wonderful dinner of Salad, Lasagna, bread, and pie, with all but the pie homemade, and heirloom tomatoes in the salad. Before dinner, I enjoyed their pool - a welcome break from the heat of riding. They have beer and wine, and also fixed us a complimentary breakfast with quiche and french toast casserole - and did it early, so we could resume our ride. Sure, the place is older - but the beds were comfortable, and the hospitality was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Sidney, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

FIrst and important - The owners are the warmest possible. They are genuinely friendly and caring people and do bend over backwards to ensure that you have the best possible stay. I feel bad posting the following information, because I really did like the owners. I felt like they treated me as if I were family instead of a paying client. Their dog, Maggie May, met us at our door in the morning looking for a friendly pat.

That said, the first room we were put in had a very strong moldy stale smoke smell (it is a smoke-free facility). They apologized profusely and offered other options including one of the cabins. We ended up taking keys for two other rooms and settled on one. The second room also had a smokey smell. The third was much better - no smokey smell. The owners said that they'd just had a big group stay there as they competed in the Highland Games and that some of them must have smoked. The lighting in all the rooms was poor - low wattage bulbs made the rooms dreary. All the carpets we saw were badly stained. The beds were fairly comfortable, and the bathrooms were clean. All the furnishing is aged and not very well dusted. The one A/C filter I looked at was extremely dirty and it looked like the unit hadn't been vacuumed/cleaned in a good long time. The shrubbery needs to be tamed.

I will not stay here again, though I'd love to stop by and talk for a few minutes with the owners because they are really nice folks trying to do the best for their customers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wingsnsails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Linville Falls hotels

Buchanan, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The owners of this motel were very friendly and helpful. However, we expected a better place after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. It needs some work such as airing out the rooms(smelled old and musty), trimming the shrubbery and general sprucing up to make more appealing. We were the only ones there. The outdoor pool looked nice and well-maintained. The road was very busy with trucks and cars going back and forth. Luckily I wear two hearing aids so could take them out. My hubby wore his earplugs. With some general maintenance and cleaning this motel could receive a higher rating in the future. Take into consideration that restaurants are few in the small town or drive to Little Switzerland for a fantastic meal at the Chalet Restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is no frills for sure, but it is family owned and operated and has some unique, charming attributes. The rooms are cozy. This is an old, cement block structure, maybe 15 or so units, some cabins in the back. The edges may be frayed, but the beds are comfortable. There's hot water in the shower. There's a nice little heated pool, and breakfast in the morning. The office has a decent selection of cold beer and wine. I would have paid a little more for WiFi internet, because my phone (Sprint) had no service. We would absolutely come back (and plan to in the fall).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
275 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Just off the Blue Ridge Parkway made this a convenient stop for a one night's lodging. It's location however was not convenient for meals in November as close restaurants were closed for the season. The room was clean, comfortable, and warm on a 30 degree night with little need for runnning the heat less than an hour after we arrived. Friendly host and the breakfast was a delicious quiche, juice, cereal, coffeecake, and fruit. A well run family operation at a very reasonalbe rate.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a high end stay, this won't satisfy you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikingfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

This past weekend was our third stay. The location is great-just off the Blue Ridge Parkway near Linville Falls and other beautiful places. If you want fancy, go somewhere else. This place is less expensive than other motels in the area. It's a Mom&Pop, no-frills kind of place but it's clean and comfortable. The owners are friendly and very hospitable. We will be back again when we need a getaway and don't want to spend a lot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linville Falls
9.8 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
18.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
13.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
19.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
18.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Lodge & Cabins

Property: Parkview Lodge & Cabins
Address: 10345 Linville Falls Hwy, Linville Falls, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Linville Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Linville Falls
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Parkview Lodge And Cabins
Parkview Lodge & Cabins Hotel Linville Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing