We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Babel Tower Trail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linville Gorge Wilderness Area

Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Linville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This area, which offers hiking, camping, birdwatching and wildlife, was named for William Linville who was killed here by Indians in the 1700s.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Babel Tower Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

4 adults and 8 kids ranging from 16 to 6 took the trail down to the Babel Tower rock formation. Took us about an hour to get there. The views down into the gorge and the river were awesome! The kids spent a good 45 minutes playing and climbing the unique rock formations. The hike was a challenge but the little ones didn't complain. Great half day family hike!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LWmson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    28
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Trails and Views for the Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I took my family and some friends to the gorge to do some hiking and see the views. We took the babel Tower trail, which is good for kids but still a little challenging. It's about an hour hike to the overlook where you can climb on the rocks. The view of the river and gorge is great and it's not too hard for young kids to get there and back. We took our six year-old and she did ok, only complained once or twice. At the end everyone was tired, but had enjoyed the hike.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful... But the bottom trail is a snake nest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Beautiful... Trails. We saved our last trail for the "bottom". When we got down to the bottom of the falls... After a pretty rocky hike... To the river ..leading up to the falls.. We were surround by snakes. True story... Everywhere ... In front of us ..on .the sides ... I know snakes live near water... I just saying the bottom of the falls is a snake pit.. Be careful where you Step!!! We saw lots! One bigger than my 12 year old- hiking with us. Google "timber rattle snakes"! The upper trails are cleared off and less snakey.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank AshleyTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a great place for short and long hiking trails. Also, pet friendly. You will love the views of the falls.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JenniferDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Beautiful hike, free and gets you out and moving. Couldn't be much better than that! I loved the beautiful views here!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mackncsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linville Gorge Wilderness Area also viewed

Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Linville Gorge Wilderness Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing