We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place”

Grandfather Mountain
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Linville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grandfather Mountain’s pristine scenery and sweeping vistas rejuvenate mind and spirit. At an elevation of 5,946 feet, Grandfather is recognized as one of the world’s most diverse nature preserves. Be exhilarated by the altitude and panoramic views from the Mile High Swinging Bridge; stand eye-to-eye with bears, cougars and otters in natural habitats. Dine in the restaurant or find a scenic picnic spot, browse the nature museum, wander the trails, go behind the scenes of the animal habitats, visit with knowledgeable naturalists, and stop for a treat at the fudge shop. Fill your day with family memories at place where wonders never cease.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
southaven, ms
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Have been going to Grandfather Mountain ever since I was a kid and still enjoy it.
It seems as if every time you go up it's a different experience because of the weather. The hiking trails are great and the views are outstanding.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DiveProvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellen S, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks for making Grandfather Mountain a destination for so many years! Every visit holds something different, for sure. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Kellen Short
Public Relations Specialist
Grandfather Mountain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,132
    337
    75
    30
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
546 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views from a Rugged Mountain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Last week I took a day trip with my brother from Greenville SC to the mountains of North Carolina – at this time of year (early March) there is little foliage (excerpting evergreen) and not everything is open in that neck of the woods. Parts of the Blue Ridge Parkway are closed, as was the section that was to get us to our first chosen destination, Linville Falls, so that we did not see. But we DID get to Grandfather Mountain. We debated a bit at the entrance: it was pricey ($20 per person), but I was excited to see it, and treated us both to the entrance fee. The friendly fellow who took my credit card gave us brochures and a cd-rom that “narrated” us all the way to the top of the mountain.

There are several options for tourists at Grandfather Mountain. I suppose one could spend a full day there as there are picnic areas, a nature museum that shows films about the place, a cliffside and several trails for climbing and hiking, and also animal habitats. We limited our stops to two main areas: first, the two gigantic rocks called Sphinx and Split, millions of years old. The rocks themselves were impressive, but I went mad for the views of the Blue Ridge Mountains beyond them. Simply stunning!

Second, the mile-high swinging bridge, which had attracted me to the mountain in the first place. Let's be clear. The name connotes a mile high drop below the bridge, but that just ain't necessarily so. If you are foolish enough to nose-dive off the bridge, you'll find that the drop is not much at all. The bridge IS exactly one mile high, however and the views from it are enthralling. It probably swings in the wind, but we had picked a very calm day to visit.

There is a shop near the bridge, where in fact you can take an elevator up to the bridge itself, but it is a mere 20 or 30 steps climb to get to it, so Phil and I braved those instead and we easily got to the mile-high bridge via the stairs. We visited the shop after - it's called the Top Shop, as it is near the top of the mountain. Nice place, t-shirts, caps, other sorts of souvenirs, two friendly, chatty guys running it the morning we were there.

Then we headed back down, not stopping at, but hearing our narrator discuss a very deep curve, called Forrest Gump curve - a bit too precious for my taste, as was the story our audio guide told about it – the curve it seems it is featured briefly in the film. Tom Hanks was shooting nearby, and the cinematic powers-that-were drafted his brother to be Forrest Gump for the shooting of this particular scene, but Tom really wanted to see his brother, so he surprised everyone by showing up! Wow.

So, while there is a bit of hype about the mountain, it is worth $20 and more just for the breathtaking views of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DottoreGianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellen S, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Grandfather Mountain and for taking the time to write such a thorough review! We're glad you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kellen Short
Public Relations Specialist
Grandfather Mountain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This is something outstanding when you are the top!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I didn't expect that it would be sooooooo fantastic!!! But be prepared when you go on top of the hill!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellen S, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We're so happy you enjoyed your visit to Grandfather Mountain! Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Kellen Short
Public Relations Specialist
Grandfather Mountain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Just a great adventure all around. Some of the animal enclosures were under construction when I was there and I always question that kind of thing but the hiking is incredible and the S(w)inging Bridge is amazing & was fogged in when I got there and clear later, making for intriguing photos. Some of the displays are worthwhile too, especially the rare rocks & crystals. But the main thing is the mountain itself and the utter beauty of the area. Just be cautious on some of those trails; it can be risky.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellen S, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to Grandfather Mountain! Our otter habitat is currently closed for renovations, but our deer, eagles, cougars and bears are still available for viewing. For more information about the renovations, visit http://www.grandfather.com/grandfather-mountain-to-renovate-otter-habitat/

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kellen Short
Public Relations Specialist
Grandfather Mountain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views! Fun Place to Visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We enjoyed our first visit to Grandfather Mountain. We weren't sure what to expect when we decided to go but the views and walk across the 'Swinging Bridge' was well worth it!

Only negatives were that the bear exhibit was hard to see that bears as they were resting at the very back of their sanctuary and $20 for adult visit seemed to be very expensive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank schaf1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellen S, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We're so glad you had a great time at Grandfather Mountain!
Our black bears are prone to inactivity and long naps in the winter months, so they may not be as easy to see during this time. However, they often exit their dens on sunny, milder winter days.
The Mountain had to raise its admission fee this year following the state legislature's decision to expand the sales tax to include ticket sales at attractions statewide. The proceeds allow us to maintain and preserve this beautiful place so many more generations can experience the same wonder, so you can feel proud that you've supported that cause.
We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kellen Short
Public Relations Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandfather Mountain also viewed

Seven Devils, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Grandfather Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing