We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top of the world”

Grandfather Mountain
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Linville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grandfather Mountain’s pristine scenery and sweeping vistas rejuvenate mind and spirit. At an elevation of 5,946 feet, Grandfather is recognized as one of the world’s most diverse nature preserves. Be exhilarated by the altitude and panoramic views from the Mile High Swinging Bridge; stand eye-to-eye with bears, cougars and otters in natural habitats. Dine in the restaurant or find a scenic picnic spot, browse the nature museum, wander the trails, go behind the scenes of the animal habitats, visit with knowledgeable naturalists, and stop for a treat at the fudge shop. Fill your day with family memories at place where wonders never cease.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I went to Grandfather Mountain in North Carolina. When we entered the park we were given a CD to play in the van as we drove - great idea to give information about what we were seeing and the available things at each stop. We went to a wild life reserve first and saw some bears, coyotes, deer and a bald eagle, Then we drove to the top to walk across the "Mile High Bridge" Sadly there was a lot of fog there but the trip was worth it.

1  Thank Priscilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisTaylor, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Priscilla H,
Thanks so much for coming to see us in September! I'm so glad that you enjoyed the audio cd. We hope that it adds to our visitors' experience and deepens their knowledge about Grandfather Mountain. While we do have a few wild coyotes on the Mountain at night, I believe that you meant that you saw cougars in the animal habitats! We also have river otters.

Thanks again for visiting us! We hope to see you on the Mountain in the future!

Landis Taylor
Director of Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,231 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

One of the beautiful vistas in the Carolinas. You have to pay an admission to enter, but it's worth it The audio CD that is provided allows for a nice self-guided tour at your own pace. There is a nice area to observe rescued animals that we enjoyed. There are a number of hiking trails that are available for those looking to get some exercise, while virtually al lthe attractions are also available by driving, and a very short walk. The highlight of the trip ist he mile-high swinging bridge that is very safe but also quite high. The views from the bridge are breathtaking, especially during the fall when the leaves are changing colors. We stopped at one of the many picnic areas on the way down the mountain for a nice relaxing lunch.

1  Thank RB2RB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisTaylor, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

RB2RB2,
Thanks so much for saying that Grandfather is "one of the beautiful vistas in the Carolinas." We really appreciate it. The admission that you mentioned goes to just that - it goes toward the mission of the Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation. The not-for-profit organization aims to preserve Grandfather Mountain, operate the nature park sustainably in the public interest, and participate in educational and research activities.
Thanks for submitting a great synopsis of your visit. We hope to see you again soon! So glad that you were able to visit hen the leaves were starting to turn.

Landis Taylor
Director of Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The mile long swinging bridge is the top attraction here! We just made to the top of grandfather mountain, having a look at the split rock and the sphinx rock on the way to the top. We just made the simple hike to the top after crossing the bridge. My daughter who is just 5 just enjoyed the hike. Wonderful volunteers who are always ready to answer and entertain the visitors. The wild life habitat is also a must try. We got to see cougars,eagle, bears, deers,otters. The restaurant served really good food and large portions. Overall this is a really good place to just hangout and spend a day.

Thank premalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisTaylor, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

premalu,
Thanks so much for visiting Grandfather Mountain and taking the time to leave this review! I'm glad that you explored Linville Peak after crossing the Bridge. This is a great area to enjoy magnificent views!

We can't wait to see you all again!

Landis Taylor
Director of Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stopped at Grandfather Mountain while vacationing with family nearby. At the entrance we were given an audio CD that tells you about the history of the mountain as you drive up. There are several small picnic areas along the way. We enjoyed the animal rescue area, that had several black bears, deer, otter, and a Bald Eagle. Everyone in our party had to stop at the fudge shop. Once at the top we took a walk over the suspension bridge. The views of the surrounding mountains from here were beautiful. The wind on this day was blowing very hard across the bridge, which made it sound as though someone was playing a loud stereo; Very Cool! The bridge itself was a little underwhelming. I had expected a longer bridge above a deep gorge, but it was a short steel bridge above a very shallow gorge. None the less the views made up for the bridge. If your in the area I would recommend seeing it. It does cost a few bucks to get in, but its one of those places you have to say you've been.

Thank tkrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisTaylor, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

tkrobson,
Thanks for taking the time to visit Grandfather Mountain while you were visiting family. The Mile High Swinging Bridge is a mile above see level, 80 feet off of the ground, and 228 feet long. I'm glad that you enjoyed the view while you were up there.
The cost of admission goes toward the mission of the Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation, the not-for-profit that runs the attraction. The mission of the Stewardship Foundation is to preserve Grandfather Mountain, operate the nature park sustainably in the public interest and participate in educational and research activities.

Thanks again for visiting!

Landis Taylor
Director of Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

loved the audio sound track you get while driving up the mountain. I also loved that there were places to stop along the way up with animals and ice cream/fudge shop. The mile high bridge is the best part at the very top!

Thank Jeani_Bo-Beani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisTaylor, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Jeani_Bo-Beani,
Thanks so much for visiting us in September and taking the time to share your experiences with others on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you had a nice visit and enjoyed the day at your own pace! I'm glad that you made stops along the summit road to enjoy the view, habitats, and much more!

Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future!

Landis Taylor
Director of Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandfather Mountain also viewed

Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
North Carolina, United States
 

Been to Grandfather Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing