We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”

Grandfather Mountain
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Linville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grandfather Mountain’s pristine scenery and sweeping vistas rejuvenate mind and spirit. At an elevation of 5,946 feet, Grandfather is recognized as one of the world’s most diverse nature preserves. Be exhilarated by the altitude and panoramic views from the Mile High Swinging Bridge; stand eye-to-eye with bears, cougars and otters in natural habitats. Dine in the restaurant or find a scenic picnic spot, browse the nature museum, wander the trails, go behind the scenes of the animal habitats, visit with knowledgeable naturalists, and stop for a treat at the fudge shop. Fill your day with family memories at place where wonders never cease.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Terre Haute, IN
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is beautiful!!! Don't let the sounds of hearing that they have a suspension bridge over 5000 feet in the air scare you. We went on a really windy day and the bridge didn't really even budge. They also have rescue animals that you can see and you can watch interactions between the employees and the animals as they give them treats. If you are in this area, you should stop by!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fademist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisTaylor, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
@Fademist,

Thanks so much for visiting Grandfather Mountain in September! The Mile High Swinging Bridge is very sturdy now compared to the bridge that we had in the 1950s - 1990s. You would be surprised though - the bridge, as calm as you may have found it, is still quite a rush and a thrill for many people. Also, the bridge is a mile high in elevation but only 80 feet above the chasm below.
I'm so glad that you were able to enjoy the enrichments in the animal habitats. That's a great way to see the habitat animals active in their habitats.

Thanks for the review. We hope to see you at Grandfather Mountain again in the future!

Landis Taylor
Director of Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,142
    340
    75
    30
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stopped here on our drive from GA to NJ. What a great place with gorgeous views. I love the CD they give you at the entrance that guides you up the mountain. The kids loved climbing the rocks at the half way point near the fudge shop!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisTaylor, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
@Heather L,
Thanks for making Grandfather Mountain a part of your trip from south to north! I'm so glad that you liked the audio cd! We started giving this to park guests a few years ago hoping that we could pass along more information about the park and encourage visitors to enjoy some of the areas that were usually passed by!

Thanks for taking the time to leave this review!

Landis Taylor
Director of Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnabow, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful BlUE Ridge”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

An awe inspiring spectacle. Not only is the surrounding mountains breathing taking but the view from the "Swinging Bridge" is out-of-this-world. Other things you will see is bears, Bald Eagle, cougars, deer, and other wild life. Near by is Linville Falls, Blowing Rock and other outstanding scenic attractions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobby g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisTaylor, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
@Bobby g,

Thanks for visiting Grandfather, writing this review and providing some other area information. We hope to see you back on the Mountain in the future

Landis Taylor
Director of Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Loved the experience.!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is one of the memorable visits from my trip to North Carolina. We hiked a little. There were people stationed who directed the way to the trails. They are friendly. I suggest you come early as it is less likely to be crowded. V reached around 9:30 and there were few people. I enjoyed hiking and view at the top is worth the hike.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Msme310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisTaylor, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
@Msme310

Thanks so much for visiting Grandfather Mountain! It seems like you must have visited Labor Day Weekend if we had folks out on the road directing traffic. During holiday weekends and October leaf season you are correct, it is a good plan to try to arrive early or later in the day as the bulk of our traffic comes through 11 am - 4 pm.

Glad that you enjoyed hiking the trails! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review.

Landis Taylor
Director of Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfafftown north carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a great place for a visit, beautiful views, flowers, animals. Also has a very interesting museum, easy access to mile high swinging bridge using elevator or stairs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DAMPANDNANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisTaylor, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
@DAMPANDNANA

Thanks for visiting us in August! I'm so glad that you had a great time. We added the elevator to our new Top Shop in 2010. We have really enjoyed providing this new opportunity to guests that have not been able to access the Bridge in the past.

Landis Taylor
Director of Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandfather Mountain also viewed

Seven Devils, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Grandfather Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing