We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suspension bridge is cool”

Grandfather Mountain
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Linville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grandfather Mountain’s pristine scenery and sweeping vistas rejuvenate mind and spirit. At an elevation of 5,946 feet, Grandfather is recognized as one of the world’s most diverse nature preserves. Be exhilarated by the altitude and panoramic views from the Mile High Swinging Bridge; stand eye-to-eye with bears, cougars and otters in natural habitats. Dine in the restaurant or find a scenic picnic spot, browse the nature museum, wander the trails, go behind the scenes of the animal habitats, visit with knowledgeable naturalists, and stop for a treat at the fudge shop. Fill your day with family memories at place where wonders never cease.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Suspension bridge is cool”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were here on a Saturday afternoon in early November. Needless to say, it was chilly, but we were prepared, so no problem. Admission price is $18/person, which can seem a little steep, but we think it was worth it. Windy that day, but bridge still open. Hiking trails closed due to ice, which was disappointing. But, facilities are nice, and views are gorgeous. A 'mountain' experience in this part of the country is hard to find. Highly recommend this.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank KLPCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,179
    355
    77
    31
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing View and lots to see”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Don't let the wait to get into the park deter you. It's well worth it! Visited in mid October and the fall foliage was at it fullest. There are lovely scenic trails to explore, picnic areas and the wildlife habitats/enclosures are a treat for kids and adults alike. The bears especially are a good show. The mile high bridge is spectacular and some days you're in the clouds up there.
Drive along the Blue Ridge parkway for breathtaking scenery. The town of Blowing Rock was lots of fun to explore. A trip to Foggy Mountain Gem Mine is a must. My kids are 6 & 12 and we mined a 2 gal bucket and found over 12 varieties of gems, came away with 30+ gem stones. The gemologist was amazing and explained and sorted each of the gems and showed us what they looked like polished. We ordered several of the gems we found made into Jewelry (earrings, pendants and bracelets) and they are beautiful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trini_Soca_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Topsail Beach, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grandfather Mtn NC Fall 2012 Visit”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent the first Saturday in October on Grandfather Mountain, Linville, NC.From the stops along the roadside going up to the swinging bridge at the top of the Mtn, folks of all ages can enjoy this attraction. One admission price at the entrance allows access to the wildlife area, picnic areas, hiking areas and the swinging bridge at the top! Though quite windy the day we were there, the fall colors were just coming in, vivid and bright making the views even more incredible. Halfway up, there is a wildlife preserve complete with bear, dear and other rescued wildlife as can be cared for at the facility. There is a good bit of walking involved here, trails are paved and a bit hilly, but certainly still accessible to stroller and wheelchair alike. We are nature lovers and enjoyed this attraction for this reason alone, everything else was icing on the cake!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NCNeathery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just returned to UK having completed a drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive. Grandfather Mountain and the little town of Blowing Rock were the highlight of our fantastic trip, made all the more beautiful by enjoying the spectacular Fall foliage along the way.
I recommend a visit to the mountain top to anyone in the area - you will not be disappointed! Just the drive up there whilst listening to the audio CD is worthwhile alone. Once you reach the top, park up and venture across the swinging bridge - if you dare - the whole world opens up before you and the vistas from every direction are quite simply, superb. A fantastic day out!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank issy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunning, Amazing, Fantastic, Bewildering”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the best outdoor natural attraction I have ever seen. There are so many fantastic aspects of the mountain. When you buy your ticket down on 'ground level' you receive an audio CD to play in your car as you drive up. It describes what you are seeing as you are seeing it. There are many overlooks and hiking trails. The top shop is amazing as is the swinging bridge. The nature museum is great and in the animal habitats I saw a grizzly. I would strongly suggest that if you are holidaying in the 50 mile vicinity of the mountain that you would consider going and experiencing Grandfather Mountain.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandfather Mountain also viewed

Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Grandfather Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing