We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Charming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Linville B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Gable Haus Inn, a beautifully restored Victorian farmhouse, is set within the breathtaking Blue Ridge Mountains and has an outstanding food menu with culinary delights to tantalise the taste buds. The owners, Norma and Eric, went out of their way to make us feel at home. They were available to accommodate all of our needs, while providing a wealth of information about all the tourist sights in the area. It was clear that the owners take great pride in their lovely inn, and the service provided was top notch.

At the inn, guests can take their pick from a cosy room in the main house or one of the outside cottage suites. We chose to stay in the main house in the honeymoon suite, Cherokee Rose. The room was clean, spacious and absolutely beautiful. The best part was the huge jacuzzi tub located in the room; after a long day of hiking in the mountains or exploring the villages of Linville and Blowing Rock, it was delightful to come back and soak in the tub before dinner.

The grounds of the Gable Haus Inn are dotted with well-chosen works of art complementing the mood of each part of the garden. The English garden has a plethora of beautiful blooming flowers and meandering paths. The front porch and garden have comfortable lounge chairs for relaxing and watching the birds. Best of all, the location of the inn is perfect to use as a base to explore the stunning Blue Ridge Mountains, with spectacular scenery and breathtaking views around every corner! There was so much to see and do that we are already planning our next trip to the inn.

While the inn itself and the surrounding mountains are reasons enough to visit, the food menu was our favorite part of this holiday! The chef, Eric, offers guests the chance to try delectably different food, which really leaves a lasting memory. Every morning, a delicious breakfast was prepared. Then, in the evening, we scheduled a private dinner; again, the food was worthy of five star ratings! With fresh food, local ingredients and wines paired up to compliment perfectly, the food was our favourite part of our holiday at the inn!

In short, we highly recommend the Gable Haus Inn! The house is immaculate. The location is great. The food is scrumptious. We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 74 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

After reading the wonderful reviews in Trip Advisors, we were taken back when we arrived. Poor parking, barely saw the sign due to overgrown yard, a sad looking picket fence and an old looking old house. Rain for more than a month had stopped Eric from upgrading the appearance of the B&B. The surrounding area is also not attractive but...like all those folks who wrote glowingly about this B&B, we too enjoyed it very much. We stayed in a large room on the first floor, Cherokee Rose, with a very comfortable king size bed and adequate private bathroom. We did not see the other rooms or cottages but everyone seemed pleased with their facilities. The afternoon wine, the breakfast, the very helpful information and friendly conversation with Norma and Eric and the other guests made a very enjoyable stay. It is centrally located to the many sites and activities as well as numerous restaurants within 5-8 miles. I have no doubt that should you need anything, Norma and Eric will bend over backwards to help you. Give it a try...you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a delightful visit at the Gable Haus! Norma and Eric are charming and gracious hosts and made us feel like family - it was very difficult to say goodbye. Eric's breakfasts were superb and kept us going all day as we visited the Highland Games and the many area galleries and sites recommended by Norma. Such a lovely area of the country and with its beautiful gardens, charmingly appointed rooms and welcoming hosts, the Gable Haus is the perfect place to stay. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are charmingly decorated and all are quiet and have a lovely view of the beautiful gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanjaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The highlight of our 10 day honeymoon was the three nights spent at this wonderful Gable House Inn and the sights around Linville, NC. Meeting Norma and Eric was such a treat, not to mention they are great hosts, and you feel like family. It is much more than just a B&B! We loved the honeymoon suite located on main floor with private garden entrance! There are two private cabins beyond the quaint garden area and four rooms upstairs. The food is top quality and all home made. I loved the fresh fruit, yogurt and homemade granola out on counter with coffee at your leisure, and then the special hot breakfast follows at 8:30! Eric carefully prepared meals to our dietary needs deliciously, and with local and seasonal foods. This Inn is the place to stay, and is a great centrally located place to stay near all Avery County and Boone/Blowing Rock has to offer. I'm thinking our first anniversary if not sooner!

Room Tip: For couples, the cabins or honeymoon suite. For families, the rooms upstairs are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizalou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gablehaus2010, Owner at Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thanks so much guys for the kind remarks. I might add that it was truly a pleasure having you visit with us. Consider this your home away from home!
BTW the cottages are family friendly and haus is for adults.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was my third visit to Gable Haus in  3 years and each time my stay is more special than the one before. Norma and Eric continue to be extraordinary hosts. They  are so warm and welcoming. They are the definition of southern hospitality. The breakfasts and the coffee  were excellent as always. Eric continues to create new, delicious , gourmet entrées (my favorite was seafood crepes  ala Eric!).   They incorporate local organic products into their meals and they  are extremely sensitive to dietary needs and have tasty gluten free menus.   The gardens were especially beautiful  this year. Eric has made many improvements to the yard including flag stone pathways that lead you throughout the lovely grounds. His current project is an elegant and beautiful flag stone and picket fence. There are benches and adorondack     chairs tucked away in peaceful spots throughout the gardens. My favorite is the  redwood swinging bench under the old apple tree. Sitting in a rocker on the front porch and watching the cardinals, goldfinches, and hummingbirds  flying through the trees is a just a little slice of heaven.!! Can't wait for my next visit ❤.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I went to Linville to hike in the Linville Gorge Wilderness and stayed one night at the Gable Haus in Linville. Norma and Eric are fantastic hosts and took care of every detail while I was there. Eric is a great cook and wine connoisseur and Norma makes sure everything is done right. Additionally, Norma is an artist too and I enjoy her paintings. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. A great place to stay. I plan to come back in the Fall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

When we want to get away from the hustle and bustle of life in the city and not have to travel far for relaxation, fun and cozy ambiance, we stay at the cottages of the Gable Haus. It is so charming and the owners treat you like royalty! Erik made the best potato pancakes we ever had! Norma never disappoints with her beautiful art collection which we proudly purchased "survivor!" A truly charming and cozy place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tikinaylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gablehaus2010, Owner at Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thanks so much guys for the kind remarks. I might add that it was truly a pleasure having you visit with us. Consider this your home away from home!
BTW the cottages are family friendly and haus is for adults.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linville
5.3 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
14.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
410 reviews
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
12.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
629 reviews
18.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages

Address: 154 Ruffin St, Linville, NC (Formerly Linville Cottages Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Linville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Linville
Price Range: $98 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and renovation. Located in the high country of North Carolina just 2 miles from Grandfather Mountain is this 1910 quaint 8 gabled farm house with a new name Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages. Blue Ridge Parkway entrance is 3 miles away connecting to all sightseeing. Walking distance to The Old Hampton Store and now a part of the new Linville Arts District. Art and Gift Gallery on premises. Two cottages w/king beds, jacuzzi, kitchens. (Children and Pet friendly in cottages) Honeymoon Suite in haus with jacuzzi and private bath. Four bedrooms w/half baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages Hotel Linville
Gable Haus Country Inn And Linville Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing