We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekly visits to Bistro”

Richard Childress Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
lexington, n c
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“weekly visits to Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have lunch or brunch at least once a week. A pleasant diversion from having to take guest to have Lex. BBQ. Menu limited, but very good. Service excellent. Beautiful grounds. Very pleasant buildings and decor. We always enjoy and so do our guest.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gray d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    78
    36
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Take time to enjoy life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Childress Vineyards is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine and a bite to eat. Located just off US Hwy 52 in Lexington, the vineyards offers a tour of how wine is made. But the real treat is to have lunch on the porch over looking the vineyards. Or in the spring or fall enjoy the outdoor dining and listen to the local artists perform on a Sunday afternoon with a glass of wine and a cheese plate. A great place to meet for lunch with friends and take time to enjoy life.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHarveyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Girl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Childress Vineyards for the Afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a great place to relax with an appetizer and a bottle of wine with friends. My friend is an accomplished photographer and she took the most amazing pictures while we were there. Beautiful place and great atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dixiechick-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bistro was excellent Wine tasting was poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We loved our food at the Bistro....and it was reasonably priced. We followed with a wine tasting in the beautiful tasting room. Each taste of wine was about the size of a quarter in the bottom of the glass. You actually couldn't taste the wine that well because the amount of wine you received was so little. After tasting in many states including California and NY we have never had such a small tasting. $15.00 per person is not a fair price....of course you get the glass, but what good is a wine tasting if you cannot taste the wine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mar107826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point NC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I had no idea what I was missing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pass by this vineyard regularly but have never stopped since it is only 15-20 minutes from home. Looked lovely from highway but never took the time to visit. My hubby said let's go on a winery tour today. We asked some friends to go and decided we would start at Childress because we had never been. HOW WONDERFUL IT IS!! GORGEOUS grounds as you drive in. We walked in and were very impressed with the beautiful facilities. Took a wine tasting which I feel in love with the Classic White, then had lunch in the Bistro. The food was phenomena!!!! So fresh and all made in house. The strawberry vinagrette dressing was beyond words. 5 stars from all four of us. We then took a tour which was also top notch. The building is building and classy in every way. This is my new fav hangout. Who knew??? NOW YOU DO!! Make it a must see!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderwoman1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richard Childress Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Richard Childress Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing