We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just below average”
Review of Cafe35

Cafe35
Ranked #3 of 122 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American, Diner, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just below average”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We ordered the grilled salmon and a small filet and should have known there might be problems when the waitress asked how did I want my salmon cooked. When I replied grilled, she then asked if I wanted it rare , medium or well done and my response was grilled properly.When served the salmon was cooked properly.

Wife ordered the filet and it was the first time I have ever seen a filet with fat & gristle. Not kidding, it was a poor cut of meat !

The sides which came with the meal ( twiced baked potatoe & broccoli ) were pretty good.

Perhaps it was an off night and the waitress was obviously new & learning. The atmosphere was pretty good, so we will try this restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful small town cafe”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Always busy; expect a line. Service is good, menu diverse. Sunday brunch is fab, just don't expect to get a Bloody Mary before noon! The recently updated outside dining allows you to enjoy the small town vibe.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kdwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love the food and the people that work there. The prices are not too high and the taste is great! They have daily specials to choose from and I have not had a bad experience EVER!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have eaten here many times and enjoyed every visit. The burgers and sandwiches are very good. The hot chips and homemade ranch are excellent. The staff is friendly and efficient. The restaurant is clean and comfortable, but can get a bit noisy. It's a great place to go for lunch when you are in downtown Lexington!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TR4249288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Downtown convenience”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Cafe 35 has a diverse menu in a casual atmosphere. Great location downtown. Sitting near the sidewalk is a real treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WCUcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda G, Owner at Cafe35, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank YOU for visiting & your positive response to Cafe35!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing