We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”
Review of The Wine Cellar & Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Wine Cellar & Bistro
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A wonderful discovery!
Bethlehem,NC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Recommended by a friend and proved to be a great evening with friends. Well prepared dishes and friendly service on a slow night for diners, but busy with a weekly "Brew and Grill Club" at the bar. Both the soup and crab cakes appetizers were tasty and unique. The entrees were delicious and well cooked and the flourless chocolate cake was warm and melty and very chocolatey. Unhurried service was appreciated. Now we have a new restaurant on our list and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeatDoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Delicious and well-prepared food”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Knew nothing about this place before eating here. Had been hiking and stopped in on the way home. Was concerned that we may not be dressed well enough, but we were welcomed enthusiastically. My husband said that his salmon was some of the best he's ever had. My shrimp and grits were creamy and flavorful. Service was excellent. Ambiance very relaxing. We will definitely return. Loved it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank she23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, not the best service.”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The food here was amazing! We really enjoyed everything we ate. What kept this from being a 5 out of 5 was the service. It took forever for us to get anything and when we tried to talk to someone about renting out the restaurant for a party we were completely ignored. We ended up having our party across the street at 1841 Cafe and it was perfect!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mackncsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible Upscale for Lenoir NC”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Love this restaurant it is really nice and the food is wonderful. This is where I had my rehearsal dinner for my weddings and it was great! We went back on a Wednesday night they had someone playing the harp made for a delightful evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank virl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well Named!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We are VERY fortunate to have "The Bistro"! Lenoir is a small city (18K) and hard hit by much of the furniture manufacturing now being done overseas, as well as the economy which affects the whole country. Yet the owners of the Bistro have put heart,soul, knowledge and MONEY into an eclectic, modern American cuisine, fun, and attractive restaurant.We have always had excellent service, and the food is very well prepared- sometimes memorable! 2013 Valentine's was wonderful! We had a marvelous wine pairing there this past year. We frequently go to lunch or dinner on the spur of the moment as well.I am a good cook and dessert maker and my husband is a gourmet cook, and we are never disappointed at The Bistro. And we are both from and have lived in large cities (London,Norfolk,DC,Raleigh Detroit, etc.) with excellent restaurants. But we do not have those available except when we travel. We manage quite well here,with The Bistro heading the list. It is "the go to place" in Lenoir. The prices are also reasonable. Do go there if you find yourself in Lenoir!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Cellar & Bistro also viewed

Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing