We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Cellar & Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Wine Cellar & Bistro
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: A wonderful discovery!
Lenoir NC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for dinner this evening. Dont know if this was an abnormal evening but the place was very busy both inside and out. After we ordered it took an inordinate amount of time to receive service.Our entree's came out before the salad????. I got the Brandied pork chop and it was delicious and a very good portion. My wife got Crab macaroni and Cheese and had to bring some home. We will certainly give it another try to see if the slow service was just a one time thing, but the food was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stndglasLenoirNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
552 reviews
359 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Looking for Good Food in Lenoir?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

You dont have to love wine to enjoy a nice meal here. In fact, we loved eating at the Bistro. The staff offered friendly and attentive service. There was nice variety on the menu from pizza to pasta to chicken/beef dishes The food is all prepared from scratch. Our meals were absolutely delicious. We thought the prices were very reasonable with most between $8 to $13, adding appetizers, desserts, and drinks will make it add up. There is a large selections of wines and also some nice brews on tap and more in bottles. We had to try the Monte Python Holy Grail Ale on tap! The location was nice with the large windows reflecting the lights from down town. We were told the nightly specials are always an excellent choice. Our group enjoyed the Salmon of the evening which was so moist and flavorful, we also had the Cellar Porkchop with apply brandy juis, the sliced Cellar Beef with mushroom ragout. Finally, the rib eye, though thin and just 10oz was cooked perfectly to my specifications and was mouth watering delicious. We couldn't pass up the layered lemon cake or the chocolate mousse cake for dessert. Can't wait until we can come back. With the variety, prices and excellent service, this is absolutely the best food in Lenoir, so our reccomdation is don't let it be just for special occasions.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chowa-Rides-Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, long wait.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great food, but not the place to go if you are in a hurry. Meals are prepared from scratch, so be prepared for a wait. Food is very good, but a little pricey.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sidek1277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We didn't have particularly high hopes for our dinner in Lenoir after observing the steady stream of gross chain steakhouses and burger joints on 321. Thank goodness we found The Wine Cellar on TripAdvisor! We enjoyed a great meal in a quaint setting with the most friendly and attentive service we've had in a while. So nice to sit and enjoy a meal while enjoying Lenoir's charming Main Street. Two thumbs up on the location, service and food. This is definitely our go-to spot when passing through Lenoir.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Tripadvisor did not let us down on this one. The reviews were right on. My wife had the Salmon Tostada and I had the Cellar Steak. Both dishes were absolutely superb. We had a reasonably priced bottle of wine with our meal. The service was very good and timely. We loved the decor. It's an interesting older building. If you are in the area, this restaurant is worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJfromNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Cellar & Bistro also viewed

Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing