We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs to die for”
Review of Duke's Old South BBQ - CLOSED

Duke's Old South BBQ
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Old South BBQ proudly uses Duke’s secret recipes which have a long history of being the best in the south for generations. The pit cooked, hickory flavored pulled pork is delicious and our now famous fried chicken is out of this world! Please stop by for lunch or dinner and try us out.
Restaurant details
Description: Old South BBQ proudly uses Duke’s secret recipes which have a long history of being the best in the south for generations. The pit cooked, hickory flavored pulled pork is delicious and our now famous fried chicken is out of this world! Please stop by for lunch or dinner and try us out.
Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ribs to die for”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

On our first visit, Dave recommended the ribs smoked over pecan wood - awesome - had them again next visit with the same result! Buffet for the rest with an interesting low country gravy over rice. Friendly, accommodating service. We are making this our go to bbq place in Leland - whoops, almost forgot to mention the excellent chicken and crispy hush puppies!

Helpful?
1 Thank jimmie1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Finally great local BBQ”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I'm sorry to say it took us so long to finally stop into Duke's to give it a try. The first sign that I was not going to be disappointed was the smell. The first thing I noticed when I walked in was that you could smell the smoke. Not over powering at all, in my opinion what you want to smell when entering a real BBQ restaurant. The owner was very welcoming and told us about all of the items on the buffet. You could tell he was passionate and proud about what he was producing. He also came to check on us periodically to make sure everything was fine. Honestly every item that we tried was excellent. I consider myself a BBQ snob. I have eaten at numerous restaurants on the historic NC BBQ Trail. The quality of the food we had at Duke's was on par with most and superior to some of the restaurants that we visited on the trail. Overall great service and food. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stupidwhitecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First visit to the area”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I am a firm believer that if you choose a few things and do them well it's a recipe for success.

There's nothing fancy about this place but the 10 or so items on the buffet are all excellent. Only thing I would add would be beer.

Helpful?
Thank chuck m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome food, cafeteria style”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you live in the Wilmington area or are traveling through Wilmington, NC, to Myrtle Beach, make sure that you get off Route 76/17 at the exit for Route 133 (heading west into Leland) to try out this BBQ place. Being locals, we had driven by Dukes many times since it had opened in Fall of 2013 but had never stopped to eat there. We finally went to Dukes on a recent weekday around 6 PM and were initially hesitant to try it out because there was only one customer inside (shortly after we got our food, several other parties arrived). Dave, one of the owners, greeted us and informed us that they had sold out of their pulled pork at lunch time. So, giving us $1 off their already modest buffet prices, we settled for the pork hash, barbecued chicken, and fried chicken. The sides consisted of black-eye peas, green beans, corn, macaroni and cheese, and hush puppies. I've never had pork hash (over white rice) which Dave explained is a Low Country dish, but it was delicious. The fried chicken was the best that I've had in a LONG time and not greasy in the slightest! My favorite side was the hush puppies--and I am usually not a fan of hush puppies! These were soft, moist, and VERY tasty. We topped the buffet off with a dessert of banana bread pudding--also delicious. We've just added Dukes to our list of favorite local eateries--make sure that you give it a try!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EricinWilmingtonNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Smokin' Good Food”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This looks like a regular NC barbecue place, but it is way beyond....High quality smoked meats, award-winning sauces and homemade sides. The staff was very attentive and deservingly proud. This is worth a dedicated trip--oh, I guess you could go to the beach too....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sailorsnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke's Old South BBQ also viewed

Leland, North Carolina Coast
 
Leland, North Carolina Coast
Leland, North Carolina Coast
 
Leland, North Carolina Coast
Leland, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing