We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice evening spot”

Charlie Macgrooders
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in Leland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice evening spot”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is located in a small strp mall and set back off the road. It is well worth looking for. The food is uasually pretty good, the service attentive (ask for Matt), the ambiance typical small pub. Not noisy or boisterous. Have been there severaL times and have never been disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeb1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Microwave cooking”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you want to drink and watch sports on TV this place is fine. The food tastes like it comes in frozen (pre-cooked) and is then heated in a microwave. I don't believe anything is prepared fresh. Think inexpensive catering style food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shivas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good for Catering events and basic meals”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We recently had a catered event at Waterford of the Carolinas for our pool party and the appetizers were terrific. I also won a $25.00 gift certificate that I am thrilled to use! We have been a few times to the restaurant and had tasty family meals. A good basic restaurant.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank boathussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great secret of Leland”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Off the beaten path of Hwy 17, into the town of Leland, actually one of best little restaurants not only in Leland but Wilmington for it's type. We have been going to Charlie Macgrooders for at least four years, we've never have had bad meal or service. The food and price is really good, and they have quite the variety. If you can catch one of their special night's with the London Broil, which is not on the main menu, that is some "Good eatin' ". I have to say when we have company over and don't feel like cooking, we will travel the 5-6 mile track back into Leland just to take people to Macgrooder's. And if you're looking for just a simple sandwich, the guys absolutely love their Reuben's, they're huge. They also have entertainment, usually on the weekends, we've enjoyed it the few times we were actually out later than our usual patterns of life. Food is really good, the atmosphere is comfortable and simple, and service is what should be...about you.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Macgrooders also viewed

Leland, North Carolina Coast
Leland, North Carolina Coast
 
Leland, North Carolina Coast
 
Leland, North Carolina Coast
Leland, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Charlie Macgrooders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing